Colwyn Bay Cricket Club’s under-19 team are the pride of Wales

All hail Colwyn Bay – the Under-19 100-ball Welsh champions. Picture: Colwyn Bay Cricket Club Juniors Facebook page

Colwyn Bay Cricket Club’s Under-19 side are the pride of Wales.

The North Wales heroes were crowned Cricket Wales – U19’s 100 Ball Competition 2021 champions at the weekend.

This group of talented players travelled all over the country to earn their just reward, beating Gorsenion in the final at Ynystawe following wins over Abergavenny in the semis and Cardiff in the last eight.

Bay players joined forces with three Bangor stars and one from Mochdre to enter the first-ever 100 ball Wales cricket tournament.

Luke Russell of Colwyn Bay captained the team.


Cardiff CC Under-19 120-7 (100) Colwyn Bay CC Under-19 150-7 (100)

After a long trip to the Welsh capital Colwyn Bay took on Cardiff at Forest Farm, Whitchurch.

Bay batted first and struck 150-7 off their 100 balls.

Owen Davies led the way with 39, Matt Russell added 27 and skipper Luke Russell 25.

Cardiff were then limited to 120-7, Jack Parry snapping up 3-26, Matt Russell 2-8 off four very economical overs, while James Smith and Tomos Davies took a wicket apiece.

Bay were victorious by 30 runs.

Team: Tomos Davies, Luke Russell, Jack Parry, Owen Reilly, Matt Russell, Owen Davies, Sam Bright, Harry Spillane, Cian Williams, James Smith, Tom O’Melia.


Colwyn Bay Under-19 158-3 (100) Abergavenny Under-19 66-10 (81)

It was a home semi-final for the Bay and how they made the most of it!

Locking horns with South Walians Abergavenny at Penrhyn Avenue, Bay were put into bat and piled up 158-3 off 100 deliveries.

Tomos Davies (51) and Luke Russell (25) started things swimmingly, putting on 57 for the first wicket.

Matt Russell then cracked an unbeaten 57 off just 32 balls, hitting four fours and three sixes. He also formed an unbeaten stand of 68 with Davies.

Aber’s innings was all over in 81 balls and they could only muster 66 all out.

It was a fine all-round bowling effort from Bay, Cian Williams (2-4), Owen Davies (2-15), Tom O’Melia (1-0), Jack Parry and Aaron Sherrington (both 1-4) and Sam Bright (1-9) sharing the wickets.

Bay won by 92 runs.

Team: Tomos Davies, Luke Russell, Jack Parry, Matt Russell, Owen Davies, Aaron Sherrington, Cian Williams, Sam Bright, James Smith, Harry Spillane, Tom O’Melia.


Colwyn Bay Under-19 168-4 (100) Gorseinon 114-9 (100)

Back to South Wales for the final where Colwyn Bay met the challenge of Gorseinon at Maes yr Afon, Ynystawe near Swansea.

Owen Davies was the star of the show after the North Wales hopefuls were invited to bat, striking 66 not out off just 25 balls, including 10 fours and three maximums from a more than useful total of 168-4.

Matt Russell added 33 to make it 117 runs in three matches, Luke Russell made 30 and Tomos Davies 20.

The Russells concocted a 66 partnership for the third wicket, while Davies and Sam Bright added 58 unbroken for the fifth.

Another tremendous combined bowling onslaught restricted Gorseinon to 114-9 off their 100 deliveries.

Owen Davies completed a marvellous match with 2-12 off 15, Matt Russell nabbed 2-17, Owen Reilly 2-20, James Smith 1-11, Dan Russell 1-13 and Tomos Davies 1-14.

Bay won by 54 runs to lift the national trophy in some style.

All three games were won so convincingly and everyone played their part, so many shining at different stages.

Colwyn Bay Under-19’s truly are the 100-ball kings of Wales.

Team: Tomos Davies, Luke Russell, Owen Reilly, Matt Russell, Owen Davies, Sam Bright, Aaron Sherrington, Cian Williams, James Smith, Dan Russell, Tom O’Melia.

Tournament squad

Luke Russell (Colwyn Bay)
Matt Russell (Colwyn Bay)
Harry Spillane (Colwyn Bay)
Owen Davies (Mochdre)
Owen Reilly (Bangor)
Tom O’Melia (Colwyn Bay)
Sam Bright (Colwyn Bay)
Cian Williams (Bangor)
Tomos Davies (Bangor)
James Smith (Colwyn Bay)
Aaron Sherrington (Colwyn Bay)
Dan Russell (Colwyn Bay)
Jack Parry (Colwyn Bay)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: