Caernarfon’s cricketers are back-to-back champions!

All hail the back-to-back league champions – Clwb Criced Caernarfon

Caernarfon has produced some notable football and rugby successes in recent years – and now the cricket club is flying the town flag in glorious fashion.

Clwb Criced Caernarfon are the 2021 North Wales Cricket League Division Three champions.

Back in 2019, the club won the North Wales League Division Four title.

Last year, there were no official champions crowned due to Covid, but 2021 has seen the Cofis maintain their fantastic progress, scooping the Division Three title by a 17-point margin.

Huw Erddyn’s side won 12 of their 18 matches, with just three losses and three cancellations.

They completed the season with a six-wicket win at Brymbo 2nd XI last Saturday.

Ian Morgan took 3-19 off nine overs and Barry Roberts 3-41 as the Steelmen were dismissed for 125 after being put into bat.

Grant Peisley then top-scored with 54 as the visitors made it to 126-4 in 34.4 overs to seal a 13-2 success.

It rounded off another great season for the club which joined the league in 2016 as members of the 2nd XI West Division.

They finished fourth that year, runners-up in 2017 and third in 2018 before ending up champions 12 months later.

Now comes the best achievement yet – Division Three title winners.

It has been a truly tremendous team effort, although Monis Altaf stands out as the division’s leading wicket-taker with 33.

Delighted captain Huw Erddyn said: “Winning the title this year has been a squad effort with everyone contributing at different times during the season. Very proud to be the captain of a great bunch of lads. Bring on Division 2!”

And chairperson Grant Peisley added: “Back to back titles for a new club like ours represents the level of commitment and determination shown by players, supporters and volunteers who have all given so much time to create a successful environment for the Clwb.

“At Parc Coed Helen we are building something for everyone in Caernarfon to feel a part of and enjoy. I hope all Cofis are proud of what the team has achieved and continue to support us next season in Division 2.”

Llongyfarchiadau Clwb Criced Caernarfon – back-to-back North Wales League champions.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: