North Wales cricket representative side is chosen to take on Cumbria next week

St Asaph’s Will Ryan will skipper the Wales National County North side

North Wales cricket’s new representative team is ready to go……

Newly-formed Wales National County North have named a 12-man squad for their first 50-over match next week.

The representative side, a joint venture between Wales National County and the North Wales Cricket League, travel to Netherfield to take on Cumbria CCC in the first encounter of a six-team tournament on Tuesday, May 17.

Staffordshire, Cheshire, Northumberland and Shropshire will also take part over the summer.

The Wales NC North squad is:

Jack Gower (Menai Bridge – wicket keeper)
James Claybrook (Brymbo)
Duncan Midgley (St Asaph)
Harrison Jones (Denbigh)
Will Ryan (St Asaph – captain)
Matt Humphreys (Mochdre)
Owen Reilly (Bangor)
Sam Rimmington (Llandudno)
Jack Parry (Colwyn Bay)
Chris Ellwood (Gresford)
Jason Foulkes (St Asaph)
Danny Williams (Gresford)

The North Wales side has been put together by team-manager Russell Penrhyn-Jones, who last year gathered some of the cream of the crop to take part in a game against Staffordshire 2nd XI, which culminated in a close two-wicket win for the north at St Asaph.

Wales NC North will be captained by Will Ryan, skipper of the St Asaph side which won its first NWCL Premier Division title last season.

Fellow Saints Duncan Midgley, a prolific run-scorer at the top of the order, and fast bowling all-rounder Jason Foulkes, who made a very promising debut for the Wales T20 squad last weekend, are also included.

Denbigh’s Harrison Jones, who has returned to his hometown club this year and already notched a career-best double century, also makes the side.

An ex-Wales international who has just recorded back-to-back league tons, James Claybrook of Brymbo, is expected to perform well.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: