North Wales Coast West League Premier Division – Bodedern Athletic make it 14 straight wins

Master marksman Asa Thomas struck twice for Bodedern at Pwllheli. Picture: RICHARD GREGSON


Pwllheli 0
Bodedern Athletic 3 (Thomas 24 & 47, Gregson 42)

Yet another major test and once more a victorious outcome for the Bodedern invincibles who recorded a 14th straight league win at the expense of Pwllheli.

After beating Bangor 1876 in the previous weekend’s Clash of the Titans, the potential was there for an After the Lord Mayor’s Show performance from Boded.

But this team is very special, having overcome every hurdle thrown their way up to now in this highly-competitive tier 4 division.

Sam Gregson (right) and Asa Thomas celebrate another Bodedern goal. Picture: RICHARD GREGSON

Two goals from Asa Thomas and a Sam Gregson strike banked the result which puts Ricky Williams’ men five points clear.

“Another win and another 3 points,” said the Athletic manager. “We were professional today in everything we did without hitting top form.”

Third-place Pwllheli kept the visitors out until the 24th minute when Casey Gregg fed a ball down the channel to Gregson, who crossed for Thomas to chip advancing keeper Andrew Gunby.

Three minutes before the break, Declan Jones played in Gregg down the line and his peach of a cross was headed in at the back post by the onrushing Gregson.

Bodedern were two-up at half time and two minutes into the second period they all but secured the points with goal number three.

Triple threat: Marc Evans, Sam Gregson (8) and Asa Thomas all caused major problems for Pwllheli. Picture: RICHARD GREGSON

The 70+ goal combination of Marc Evans and Thomas showed why they are unplayable at times.

The 39-goal Evans slid Thomas through and the Holyhead lad lashed into the top corner from 16 yards for his 34th of the season.

In the 55th minute Pwllheli’s misery grew when Jac Williams was sent off for a second yellow card offence.


Andrew Gunby, Meical Williams, Louis McFarlane, Dylan Davies, Gwyn Williams, Lukas Baltovic, Deio Gwilym (Leigh Sansome 58), Jamie Banks (Jordan Roberts 46), Steffan Toplis, Jac Williams, Mark Jones.
Carl Jones, Declan Jones, Casey Gregg, Ryan Lees (Sean Pritchard 57), Eric Leach, James McMinimee, Sam Gregson, Asa Thomas (Darren Lewthwaite 80), Marc Evans, Tom Wood, Casey Boylan.

Llanberis 3 Aberffraw 2

The Darans turned around a 2-1 deficit at half time to beat 10-man Aberffraw at Ffordd Padarn.

Nidian Huws put Llanberis in front in the 14th minute, but goals from Tomos Hughes and Gary Bolton handed Berffro an interval advantage.

The visitors’ fortunes began to go downhill when they had Adam Hallybone sent off in the 59th minute.

The outstanding Gethin Maxwell levelled three minutes later, then Rhys Hughes delivered the 84th minute winner.

Penrhyndeudraeth 3 Llanrug United 3

All square at Maes-y-Parc where Llanrug recovered from 3-1 down to share the points.

Marcus Orlik put Iwan Williams’ home side one-up in the seventh minute and the score remained 1-0 until Sion Phillips equalised just before the break.

Dylan Owen restored the Penrhyn lead against his old club on 54 minutes and when Orlik bagged his second after 76, it looked like game over.

But Owain Jones cut the deficit in the 82nd minute and Alan Mark Owen made it three-apiece on 85.

Postponed: Nefyn United v Mynydd Llandegai, Pentraeth v Bangor 1876.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: