League title glory for Hawarden women’s cricketers

Congratulations to Hawarden Park on winning their league title

Meet Hawarden Park Women’s 1st XICheshire Women’s Cricket League Division 3 West champions for 2021.

Captained by Rachel Warrenger, the North Wales side clinched the title at their home ground Moor Lane with a victory over Wistaston Village on Sunday.

During the 2021 league campaign, Hawarden lost just once in nine matches, winning six with two cancellations.

A number of the girls have also produced some impressive performances in men’s cricket, including sisters Abbey Mayers and Holly Mayers for Buckley CC.

In their final league game against Wistaston, the Cheshire side won the toss and batted, but were made to regret it as they were bowled out for 54 in 23.1 overs.

Abbey Mayers took 2-1 off 3 overs, while Holly Mayers picked up 2-9 from 4.

Hawarden then coasted to 56-2 in 16.2 overs, Llio Parry and Fi Wynne both 13 not out and Laura Nicholls 11.


May 2: Nantwich 2nd XI 90-8 Hawarden Park 168-3 (Rachel Warrenger 69 no, Nicola Deane 57) – WON BY 78 RUNS

May 23: Hawarden Park C Wistaston Village C – CANCELLED

June 27: Hawarden Park 112-1 (Nicola Deane 56, Abbey Mayers 41) Chester Boughton Hall 2nd XI 107-8 – WON BY 5 RUNS

July 11: Hawarden Park 61-0 (Holly Mayers 33 no) Nantwich 2nd XI 60-10 (Rhian Thomas 5-9) – WON BY 10 WICKETS

July 25: Nantwich 2nd XI 116-6 Hawarden Park 81-5 – LOST BY 35 RUNS

Aug 1: Chester Boughton Hall 2nd XI 71-10 (Rhian Thomas 3-21) Hawarden Park 74-0 (Nicola Deane 38 not out, Abbey Mayers 29 not out) – WON BY 10 WICKETS

Aug 5: Chester Boughton Hall 2nd XI 0-0 Hawarden Park 110-4 – ABANDONED

Aug 15: Wistaston Village 2nd XI v Hawarden Park – WISTASTON CONCEDED

Sep 5: Hawarden Park 56-2 Wistaston Village 2nd XI 54-10 – WON BY 8 WKTS

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: