St Asaph pair put on unbeaten 76 for ninth wicket as North Wales celebrate stunning victory

North Wales Cricket Representative Teams pictured before facing Staffordshire. Back row L to R: Matty Ryan (St Asaph), Sam Rimmington (Llandudno), Dan Parry (Brymbo), Harrison Jones (Northop Hall), Will Higginson (Northop Hall), Dan Evans (Llandudno), Morgan Murray-Williams (Pwllheli)
Front Row L to R: Joe Howell (Llay), Jason Foulkes (St Asaph), Will Ryan (St Asaph – captain, Jack Gower (Menai Bridge). PICTURE: RAY HIBBS

North Wales Cricket Representative Teams 213-8 Staffordshire CCC 210-8

NWCRT won by two wickets

Match played at Elwy Grove Park, St Asaph, September 5, 2021

An unbroken ninth-wicket stand of 76 between host club stars Will Ryan and Jason Foulkes led the North Wales Cricket Representative Teams side to a thrilling victory against their impressive visitors.

Chasing 211 to win and struggling on 137-8, it looked like defeat was on the cards for the hosts at Elwy Grove Park, St Asaph, yet the two club-mates guided their team past the winning post.

The host side comprised what was considered combined the best of North Wales talent from the NWCL and Liverpool and District Competition.

Staffordshire won the toss and elected to bat, setting 210-8 off 50 overs, young Louis Washington their top-scorer with 51.

William Ryan on his way to a crucial 59 not out. Picture: RAY HIBBS

Llandudno all-rounder Dan Evans topped the bowling effort with 3-38, Foulkes claiming 2-31 and Brymbo’s Daniel Parry 2-49.

In reply, North Wales’ top four all made starts but got out, and at one stage the home team were 79-6. This progressed to 137-8 before St Asaph’s Will Ryan and Foulkes came together.

Number eight Ryan finished 59 not out, including nine fours, and all-rounder Foulkes was unbeaten on 32 – four boundaries and a six – as NWCRT made it to 213-8 in the 45th over,

A fantastic result for North Wales cricket.

North Wales

Mathew Ryan (St Asaph)

Jack Gower (Menai Bridge)

Harrison Jones (Northop Hall)

Dan Evans (Llandudno)

Morgan Murray-Williams (Pwllheli)

Will Higginson (Northop Hall)

Sam Rimmington (Llandudno)

William Ryan (St Asaph – captain)

Joe Howell (Llay)

Jason Foulkes (St Asaph)

Daniel Parry (Brymbo).

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: