North Wales Cricket League and Liverpool Competition: Bangor on verge of title, Saints openers put on 355

Morgan Murray-Williams hit a brilliant 96 not out at champions-elect Bangor

Bangor need just five points from their remaining two matches to be crowned 2019 North Wales Cricket League Premier Division champions.

Gareth Edwards’ side edged ever nearer the title on Saturday with a five-wicket victory at home to Pwllheli.

The visitors chose to bat and made 197-9 off 50 overs, skipper Morgan Murray-Williams maintaining his fantastic form by hitting 96 not out, opener Adam Williams adding 42.

For the hosts, Franco Kasner took 4-39 and became the first bowler in the league to reach 50 wickets this season, while Michael Hughes picked up 2-38.

Set a revised target of 192 due to rain, the Citizens got there for the loss of five batsmen, Nadeem Rehman 39, David Winter 36, acting skipper Matthew Haswell 34 no and Idrees Ijaz 31.

Syed Kaleem Aslam scooped 3-35 and Iwan Moore 2-39 for the visitors, but Bangor claimed the points 12-3.

St Asaph openers Will Ryan and Duncan Midgley produced a remarkable unbroken first-wicket stand of 355 in their team’s 15-0 demolition of relegated Connah’s Quay.

Skipper Ryan smashed a career best 173 no and Midgley recorded a personal highest score for the club of 152 no as Saints rattled up 355-0 off 50 overs.

Quay were then bowled out for 103, Alex Baker 5-41, Danny Ryan 2-4 and David North 2-49 for the home side.

A seventh-wicket partnership of 115 between Sam Davies and Mike Humphreys ensured Mochdre set a winning total in their derby tussle at Llandudno.

The visitors were struggling on 122-6 (Alex Davies 30) before Sam Davies (64) and Humphreys (51 no) guided them to a challenging score of 254-7 off 50 overs.

Captain Jack Rimmington collected 4-40 for the home side.

In reply, set a reduced target of 202 off 36 overs, Tudno collapsed from 117-1 to 158 all out, meaning Mochdre took the spoils 12-3.

Openers Sam Rimmington (52) and Jamie Grimshaw (33), who put on 82, shone brightest for the hosts, Gareth Goodson 3-31, Kyle Brown 2-6 and Stewart Williams 2-50 for the travelling side.

Menai Bridge’s dreams of retaining the title all but disappeared with a four-wicket loss at home to Northop.

Put into bat, the champions were dismissed for 148, Dion Holden 32, Ammar Mahmood 3-21 off 10, Bart Beswick 3-29 and Andy Poynton 3-40 for the Flintshire side.

Northop crashed to 16-3 in response, but eventually made it to 145-6 thanks to a commanding unbeaten 75 from skipper Gareth Williams, opener Thomas Hughes adding 35, Liam Bibby 3-19 for the islanders, who lost 12-3 on points.

Andy Clarke hit a maiden ton and a career best 111 not out as Denbigh triumphed at Brymbo.

Inserted by their hosts, Denbigh chalked up 215-8 off 50 overs, Clarke’s wonder knock off 100 balls including 10 fours and three sixes. Joe Clayton added 41, while for the Steelmen, Daniel Parry scooped 2-66.

Skipper James Claybrook top-scored with 51 as Brymbo were bowled out for 154 having been 82-1, Mohamed Nilam Jayman posting 31, while Denbigh skipper Harrison Jones snapped up 5-18 off nine overs, Alec Lewis and Andy Clarke both 2-29. Points: 3-12.

Pontblyddyn look all but doomed after slumping by seven wickets (13-2) at Gresford.

Jonathan Byrd’s 34 was the biggest score in Pont’s paltry 106 all out, Sam Thompson a stunning 5-4 off 4.4 overs, Cam Evans 2-13.

Gresford hit back with 107-3, captain Daniel Williams 39, Chris Moss 3-38 for the visitors.

Liverpool Cricket Competition scores

1st XI ECB Premier League
Colwyn Bay (5) 28-3
Northern (5) 188-10 (Paul Jenkins 5-58, Adam Campion 3-49)
No decision – rain stopped play

1st XI First Division
Ainsdale (20) 83-2
Prestatyn (1) 82-10 (Sheil Sethi 44)
Ainsdale won by 8 wickets

Northop Hall (3) 71-10
Wigan (20) 207-7 dec (Enamul Haque 4-95, James Hurlin 3-76)
Wigan won by 136 runs

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: