North Wales Cricket League Divisions 1-4: Conwy, Halkyn, St Asaph and Caernarfon continue to lead the way

Nathan Lavender made a maiden century for Division Two leaders Halkyn

Division One

Conwy extended their lead at the summit to 15 points with three rounds of matches to play after gaining maximum reward from their home clash against Carmel and District.

Put into bat, Carmel were all out for 93, Ryan Roberts top-scoring with 40, Graham Meredith (4-31) and Shaun Davies (3-8) the leading home bowlers.

In reply, Conwy reached 94-0 off 20.1 overs, Anthony Thorp 46 not out and Evan Williams 32 no.

Nathan Humphreys snapped up 7-32 in Llay Welfare’s victory in a low-scorer at Llanrwst.

The Rwsters were rolled over for just 46, their top three batsmen all bowled by Humphreys for ducks, while Tom Parry scooped 2-12.

Llay scraped to 47-5 off 26.2 overs, Chris Woodcock 26 no, to seal a 12-3 verdict, Lee Thomas 3-22 for the hosts.

Hawarden Park edged a six-run triumph at Abergele, 140-8 playing 134 all out.

David Hughes topped Park’s batting chart with 34, David Moulson a brilliant 3-14 off 12 overs for the home side, then skipper Karl Higgins (41) and Wasim Ali (35) took Gele close, but not close enough. Ian Martin bagged 4-20 and Hughes 4-36 for the visitors. Points: 4-11.

Bethesda won a high-scoring thriller at Bersham by five wickets.

Suresh Lakmal Koswaththage (88) and Amith Thilakarathne (84) helped the Colliers to 234-8, then Nicholas Parry cracked a career-best 128 not out and captain Jonathan Williams added 44 as Pesda reached 235-5 for a 12-3 decision.

Jack Williamson made 54 as Dolgellau set 195-8 at Gwersyllt Park, but the hosts reached the winning post on 196-6, Dominic Mitchell 80 not out and skipper Jake James 44, Phil Leeds 2-26 off 12 overs for the travelling side. Points: 12-3.

Mold hammered Ruthin by the full 15-0 points margin.

George Deniz (40), John Crane (40 no) and Ewan Hill (36) helped Yr Wyddgrug chalk up 220-6, Duncan Roberts 3-51, then the hosts blitzed out Ruthin for 94, Crane 5-22 and Keith Embleton 4-31.

Division Two

Nathan Lavender scored a career-highest 105 not out as leaders Halkyn dished out a 15-0 caning at Brymbo 2nds.

The visitors chose to bat and amassed 310-6 off 45 overs, opener Ben Roberts adding to Lavender’s ton with 86, Graeme Settle 39 and Timothy Davies 35.

Brymbo were then skittled out for 75, Gareth Thomas 3-2 and Roberts 3-17.

Halkyn head the table by 10 points, but second-place Bangor 2nds have a game in hand.

Bangor were also in ruthless batting form in recording a 15-0 thrashing of Northop 2nds.

Andy Williams (118) and Sohaib Khan (46) put on 129 for the opening wicket as the Citizens totalled 258-3 off 45 overs.

In their innings, Northop were limited to 120-9, Nathan Pierce 42, Idrees Ijaz 3-2 and Subhan Khan 3-35.

Buckley squeezed out a two-wicket triumph at Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn.

Louis Parry notched 4-39 and Joseph Norman 3-24 as the hosts were bowled out for 188, then Bucks made it to 189-8,

Rocco Franco 62 and Norman 42 for an 11-4 win, Ryan Wynne 3-36 for the hosts.

Mochdre 2nds took the honours 13-2 at Llay Welfare 2nds, 194 playing 141-8.

William Opie (56 no) and Owen Davies (43) were the main Mochdre scorers, Steve Partington 3-41 for the 10-man Wrexham side, for whom openers Huw Jones and Partington made 54 and 40 respectively, Nathaniel Smith 4-9 for the visitors.

Mathew Jones snared 3-42 as Menai Bridge 2nds restricted 10-player Marchwiel and Wrexham to 106-9, then the islanders coasted to 112-2, Dion Owen 50 no, for a 14-1 success.

Gresford 2nds were awarded 10 points after Corwen (-15) conceded.

Division Three

Table-toppers St Asaph 2nds continued their march towards the title with a 14-1 pasting of Buckley 2nds at Elwy Grove Park.

Ten-man Bucks were all out for 103 before Saints eased to 107-1 off 17.2 overs, Ben Murphy 54 not out and Joe Lunn 34.

In a very one-sided affair, Pontblyddyn 2nds compiled a mammoth 303-6 at Carmel and District 2nds, Dave Evans 86, Richard Davies 67 and Sion Thomas 57. The nine-man hosts were then sent packing for a paltry 38, Aled Roberts 3-10 in a 15-0 breeze.

Simon Williams took 3-7 and James Thomas 3-16 as Denbigh 2nds dismissed Hawarden Park 2nds for 68, then the visitors replied with 70-5, Chris Brown 26, for a 12-3 win, Ahmed Javed 3-14 for the hosts.

A decisive 93 from Liam Jones and fellow opener Andrew Tilley’s 34 helped Connah’s Quay 2nds set 193-6 at Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn 2nds, Soham Trivedi 3-33 for the hosts, who collapsed to 111 all out, Tom Hall 43, Martin Hough pocketing 3-35 for 14-1 winners Quay.

Division Four

Clwb Criced Caernarfon lead the standings by 12 points after a 13-2 result at Ruthin 2nds.

Monis Altaf gathered 5-24 as the Cofis kept 10-man Ruthin down to 103-9, Robert Williams 38 for the hosts.

Jason Parry (35) and Ian Morgan (30 no) then guided the visitors to 108-3 in just 19 overs.

Llangollen triumphed by seven wickets at Bethesda 2nds.

Dylan Hughes came up with 42 in Pesda’s total of 110 all out, then Gareth Rigden slammed seven sixes in his 76-ball, 79 not out as the visitors skipped to 111-3 (13-2).

Dolgellau 2nds were kept down to 155-7 by Llandudno 2nds, Miles Jones picking up 3-11, then the seasiders got home on 158-8, Ajay Dhawan 55 and Stuart Hughes 35, to secure an 11-4 verdict, Joe Williamson 3-28 for the hosts.

Callum McMillan (77) and Theo Williams (34) guided nine-man Llanrwst 2nds to 142-8 at Rhewl, Aled Edwards 3-7 for the hosts, who were then restricted to 76-9. Points: 13-2 to the Rwsters.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: