Bryngwran Bulls and Trearddur Bay United join forces to form new club

Bulls celebrate winning the 2018-19 Anglesey League crown. Pic: Wynne Evans

Bryngwran Bulls and former Welsh Alliance League champions Trearddur Bay United are merging to form a new club for the 2019-20 season.

Trearddur Bay Bulls will compete in the Gwynedd League.

The 2018-19 Anglesey League title-winners Bulls are switching bases from their village to Lon Isallt, Trearddur Bay, United’s ground of many years.

Bryngwran will amalgamate with their new hosts and the club will be known as Trearddur Bay Bulls.

Bulls manager Richard Owen said: “After gaining promotion to the Gwynedd League, the club worked tirelessly to ensure the field at Cae Ysgol, Bryngwran, met the required criteria.

“However, it was apparent that our facilities at Bryngwran would not meet the league standard. As a committee, we approached Trearddur Bay enquiring about the possibility of using Lon Isallt for the 2019/2020 season.

“It soon became clear that the two committees shared similar goals, and that an ambitious and hard-working relationship could be formed.

“After further deliberation, an agreement was made to merge the clubs’ committees. The agreement detailed that our new ground will be at Lon Isallt, Trearddur Bay, and that we as a club will be renamed as Trearddur Bay Bulls.

“After deliberation and scrutiny of the new criteria coming into force next season, the former Bryngwran Bulls committee unanimously agreed that if we were to stay at Cae Ysgol, Bryngwran, the club would stagnate, and in all likelihood, cease to exist.

“The field at Bryngwran would not meet the criteria to progress further than tier 5, the lowest tier of the Welsh FA football pyramid.”

Owen added: “We would like to take this opportunity to thank the Iorwerth Arms, including Nev and the board of directors, Wayne and all the bar staff and Rhian for the post match food, Mrs Powell and everyone at Ysgol Gymuned Bryngwran.

“Also we would like to thank all our sponsors for the last 9 years for their continued support. And last but not least Wynne the cameraman and the fans for turning up home and away regardless of the weather to support the boys; hopefully you will continue to support us at Trearddur Bay.”

Formed in 2008 as a Saturday football club, Trearddur Bay United won a magnificent 12 trophies before reluctantly deciding to resign from the Welsh Alliance League for the 2018/19 season due to a player shortage.

Bay insisted the break was temporary and that there were ongoing plans to develop the club further.

Now the Bryngwran situation has killed two birds with one stone – providing Bulls with a new home and ensuring the name Trearddur Bay is back in North Wales football.

Trearddur Bay United celebrate winning the 2015/16 Welsh Alliance title. Picture: Dennis Young

New club chairman Chris Davies, former manager of Trearddur Bay United, said: “With everything that’s going on at the club it’s a very exciting and promising time to be involved with this new venture.”

The committee has now evolved and the positions for Trearddur Bay Bulls assigned as follows:
President – Richard Lennon
Chairman – Chris Davies
Vice chairman – Mark Edwards
Club secretary – Gwilym Owen
Match day/registration secretary – Carwyn Jones
Manager – Richard Owen
Treasurer – Sioned Jones
Groundsman – Niel Jones
Committee members – Kevin Jones, Ralph Wilkinson, Gethin Evans, Mark Gibbs, Roger Edwards.

Trearddur Bay Bulls will also be launching a new website, Facebook page and Twitter account – link details to follow.

The two clubs’ current social media sites will soon be closed down.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: