Cerrigydrudion land REM Jones Cup with late winner direct from a corner

Cerrig celebrate with the REM Jones Cup. Picture: CPD CERRIGYDRUDION

North Wales Coast East League Division One REM Jones Cup Final

Abergele 1 (Holland 86)
Cerrigydrudion 2 (I Gwyn 54, G Edwards 89)

Gruffudd Edwards’ 89th minute goal direct from a corner clinched the REM Jones Cup for a delighted Cerrigydrudion on Saturday.

Runners-up in the North Wales Coast East League Division One this season, Cerrig overcame champions Abergele in a close-fought cup final at Glan Conwy.

Cerrig’s achievement was all the greater considering top-scorers Tirion Griffiths and Tomos Tryfan Jones were both absent.

This long-awaited final was a tensely-fought battle.

Tremendous goalmouth action from the final. Picture: MATT JOHNSON

The game started with Abergele firmly on top, causing problems to the Cerrig back-line with their balls in behind and dangerous long throws.

The pressure almost came to fruition twice for Gele in the first 20 minutes. They were denied initially by an amazing save from Sion Edwards; and some minutes later the champions hit the post from a one-on-one situation.

These chances seemed to kick Cerrig into gear, with the rest of the first half being a closely fought affair which could have gone either way. However, it was 0-0 going into the break.

Half-time: 0-0

The second half started with Cerrig seeming to edge their individual battles; before, finally they managed to break the deadlock.

Ifan Gwyn (blue) scores for Cerrig. Picture: MATT JOHNSON

A brilliant delivery from Corey Williams met a surging run from Ifan Gwyn, who poked the ball through the keeper’s legs in the 54th minute.

The next 20 minutes were closely contested before Abergele decided to go all out with a change of system to put pressure on Cerrig’s defence.

Finally, the champions’ opportunity came from a long throw-in on the 86th minute.

The ball was launched into the box where a scramble ensued and Dominic Holland stabbed into the goal.

The final seemed to be heading towards extra-time at 1-1, but Cerrig had other ideas after winning a corner in the 89th minute.

Cerrig celebrate Ifan Gwyn’s goal. Picture: MATT JOHNSON

Almost incredibly, this flag-kick was put directly into the back of the net by the fantastic Gruffudd Edwards, making it 2-1 to Cerrigydrudion.

Despite the four minutes of added time, Cerrig managed to hold on to their lead until the final whistle blew, which confirmed them as the 2021/22 REM Jones Cup winners.

Congratulations to Euros Gwyn’s side, also to Abergele for a great title-winning season.


Cain Folly, Greg Hilditch, Ryan Jones (Ryan Roberts 70), Lewis Waggett, Keiran Holland, Lewis Moroney, James Hay, James Lloyd, Dominic Holland, Sam Ashton (Tommy Lloyd 90), Ant Zoezee.

Sion Edwards, Samuel Griffiths, Tegid Williams (Cai Moore 58), Robert Parry, Carwyn Williams, Harri Watkin Jones, Ifan Gwyn, Jac Edwards, Corey Williams, Gruffudd Edwards, Robin Evans.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: