Long-serving Edward Rooney scores maiden ton for Abergele Cricket Club in thrilling win

Edward Rooney of Abergele in recent batting action against Denbigh. Picture: RAY HIBBS



Abergele 2nd XI (11) 187-3 Bethesda 2nd XI (4) 184-5

Club stalwart Edward Rooney recorded his maiden ton for Abergele in a memorable encounter at Pentre Mawr Park.

Rooney, who was first team captain for eight seasons and has notched more than 6,500 league runs for Gele, had never managed a century until Saturday.

Over the years Rooney has become renowned as an incredibly consistent batsman, making endless decent scores to help his team.

His previous best was 80 against Pontblyddyn 2nds back in 2011 and he had chalked up 25 fifties, but the weekend brought a magical score of 102 not out versus Bethesda 2nds, comprising 117 balls and including 16 fours and two sixes.

Abergele 2nds posted 187-3 off 40 overs, Rooney sharing in a third-wicket stand of 120 with Sam Painter (62).

John Maloney took 2-26 off nine for Pesda.

The visitors gave it a great go in reply, but ended four runs short of victory on 184-5, openers Richard Boldero (63) and Jaz Shea (55) starting things off well.

The pair put on 102, but despite a good 30 not out from skipper Byron Jones, the Ogwen side did not quite make it.

Gareth J Edwards scooped 2-22 but the hero of the day was that man Rooney.

Gwersyllt Park 2nd XI (0) 77-10 Pontblyddyn 2nd XI (15) 239-8

Dave Evans scored a cracking 129 as leaders Pontblyddyn 2nds claimed maximum points at Gwersyllt.

Wicket-keeper Evans’ knock totally dominated proceedings as Pont amassed 239-8 after winning the toss and electing to bat.

Rhys Griffiths produced the best figures of 2-24 for the home side.

Park were then all removed for just 77, Ed Crawford 4-23 and David Brilley 3-3 for the rampant visitors.

Denbigh 2nd XI (13) 250-4 Mynydd Isa & Maeshafn (2) 179-7

Openers Jon Eccles (92) and Daniel Nixon (72) put on a bumper first-wicket stand as Denbigh piled up 250-4 off their 40 overs after being inserted by the opposition.

Stuart Griffiths (34) and John Lloyd-Williams (32 no) kept the runs flowing for the hosts.

Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn hit back with a respectable 179-7, Sanath Shetty making 48 no and Jonathan Fagan 33 no, James Thomas 3-30 for Denbigh, who claimed the points 13-2.

Brymbo 2nd XI (14) Ruthin 2nd XI (-15)

Ruthin conceded, leaving second-place Brymbo to be awarded 14 points.

Connah’s Quay 2nd XI (0) 86-10 Buckley 2nd XI (15) 207-7

Holly Mayers

Maximum points for Buckley 2nds, who made a formidable total of 207-7 off 40 overs after electing to bat.

Skipper Mike Wooton hit 58, Romano Franco 51 and Holly Mayers 34 for the visitors, Jack Griffiths picking up 3-43 for the Quay.

The hosts were dismissed for just 86 in 23 overs, skipper Andy Tilley a defiant 41.

Wooton completed a great game with 5-24 and Abbey Mayers claimed 2-18.

Pwllheli 2nd XI (1) 63-10 Conwy 2nds XI (14) 65-2

Hannah Dodd grabbed 4-14, David Owen 2-9 and Vaughan Williams 2-13 as Conwy 2nds toppled Pwllheli 2nds over for just 63 at Parc Bodegroes.

The visitors then skipped to 65-2 off 16.4 overs for a 14-1 victory, Richard Windmill 28 not out.


Corwen (3) 64-10 (Scott Thomas 5-15, Gaz Jones 2-3) Llanrwst 2nds (12) 107-10 (Matty Lloyd 46, Jack Halls 4-8, Harry Pooler 2-15)

Dolgellau 2nds (13) Hawarden Park 3rds (-15)
Hawarden Park 3rds conceded

Llandudno 2nd XI (15) 47-0 Carmel and District 2nd XI (0) 45-10 (Andrew Christian 3-11, Ethan Hill 2-4, Casey Bedford 2-7)

Llay Welfare 2nd XI (14) 50-2 Bersham 2nd XI (1) 49-10 (Jack Birch 3-20, John Lloyd 3-20)

Marchwiel & Wrexham 2nd XI (4) 111-5 (Ryan Williams 42 no, James Beresford 2-22) Halkyn 2nd XI (11) 112-8 (Beresford 33, Jay Lee 4-29, Anthony Morris 2-17)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: