New captains in place for the 2022 season at Chirk Cricket Club

Chirk CC introduce their sponsors HeatSource Energy Solutions Ltd, Terry’s Auto Repairs and Caffi Wylfa – @HeatSource_ES @terrysautos1 and @caffiwylfa

There are a few changes in the air as Chirk prepare to begin their third full competitive season in the Shropshire County Cricket League.

The first team, who play in Division One, will have Luke Gardner as their captain this year.

He replaces prolific all-rounder Andrew Swarbrick, who the team hope can continue his amazing league form of last season which brought 846 runs and 39 wickets.

Swarbrick has a career total of 4,465 league runs and 313 wickets to his credit, having represented the club since the early 2000’s.

The first team may be making a new signing in the week ahead, but nothing is concrete as yet.

Nigel Davies will skipper Chirk’s 2nd XI, who have been promoted from Division 7 to 6 for 2022. New faces include Connor Dyke from Oswestry, plus Sam Wall and Jay Patel, who both did not have clubs before.

Vice captain for the firsts is James Carter and Holly Walker takes on the role for the second team, but that will change as she is expecting a baby.

Chirk 1st XI start their season with a home match versus Wellington 2nd XI on Saturday, April 23, while the seconds visit Beacon 2nd XI on the same day.

Shropshire County Cricket League – Chirk CC’s affiliations

Division One

Alberbury 1st XI
Bomere Heath 1st XI
Bridgnorth 2nd XI
Chelmarsh 1st XI
Chirk 1st XI
Cound 1st XI
Frankton 1st XI
Newtown 1st XI
Shelton 2nd XI
Shrewsbury 2nd XI
Wellington, Shropshire 2nd XI
Worfield 2nd XI

Division Six

Beacon 2nd XI
Bomere Heath 2nd XI
Chirk 2nd XI
Column 2nd XI
Corvedale 1st XI
Coton Hall 1st XI
Cound 2nd XI
Lilleshall 2nd XI
Ludlow 3rd XI
Montgomery 2nd XI
Quatt 3rd XI
Willey 2nd XI

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: