All hail St Asaph Cricket Club – 2021 North Wales League Premier Division champions

St Asaph – North Wales Cricket League Premier Division champions 2021

St Asaph were crowned Icon Sports North Wales Cricket League Premier Division champions in magnificent style with a maximum points victory in their final game against Brymbo.

Needing a win by any margin to be assured of the title, the Saints defeated the Steelmen by 159 runs to finish seven points clear of runners-up Menai Bridge.

Jason Foulkes returned stunning figures of 8-17 as Brymbo were blitzed out for just 49 chasing Asaph’s total of 208-7, Duncan Midgley scoring a tremendous 84.

So, St Asaph are top division champions in the North Wales League for the first time since 1975 and this is their first-ever crown since the Premier was born in 2001.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Saints were a steady 71-3 before Midgley and Ben Mason (33) added 94 for the fourth wicket.

Midgley’s 84 came off 91 balls and included 10 fours.

Nathanael Scott earlier made 26, while Brymbo’s most successful bowler was Daniel Parry with an impressive 2-27 off 12 overs.

Needing 209 to win, the visitors were more than capable of such a score, especially with in-form skipper James Claybrook at the crease.

However, paceman Foulkes had the eye of the tiger on this day, and after he had Claybrook caught by Midgley for six, it was the beginning of the end for Brymbo.

The away side’s innings lasted just 16.4 overs as they crashed to 49 all out, Jake James the sole double figure contributor with 19.

Jason Foulkes

As for Jason Foulkes, it was quite a day individually as well as being part of a championship-winning team….

His 8-17 off 8.4 overs are career best figures 🏏

He ends the season on 53 league wickets and 59 in all competitions – another career highest 🏏

Foulkes has now reached 350 league wickets for the club since his debut in 2008 🏏

Providing solid support in seeing off Brymbo was Liam Moores with 2-22.

17 wins, 3 defeats and 2 abandonments in 22 matches – congratulations St Asaph, worthy 2021 Premier Division champions

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: