FAW Amateur Trophy match of the day 2: Penrhyndeudraeth beat Denbigh on pens

Penrhyndeudraeth keeper Morgan Jones was a major hero for his team against Denbigh. Picture: ROY GUNTHER


CPD Penrhyndeudraeth 1 (Thomas 43)
Denbigh Town 1 (Barratt 77)
Penrhyndeudraeth win 4-2 on penalties

Home keeper Morgan Jones saved twice in a penalty shoot-out to ensure Penrhyndeudraeth sensationally knocked tier 3 Ardal North West stars Denbigh Town out of the FAW Trophy at Maes-y-Parc.

Iwan Williams’ side from the tier 4 North Wales Coast West Premier Division had overcome another third tier team, Llanfair United, in the Welsh Cup seven days earlier and Denbigh were well aware of the threat posed by opponents managed by the former boss of Caernarfon Town and Llandudno.

Billy Holmes, Will Ashley and Paul Fleming all went close for the visitors in the first half before Penrhyndeudraeth took the lead.

Full back Steven Jones sent in a cross which beat the heads of Denbigh’s defenders and fell to Iwan Thomas some 10 yards from goal. He composed himself to slot the ball past the outstretched arms of keeper Stuart Griffiths.

The second half saw Denbigh continue to pressurise the Penrhyndeudraeth goal, but their endeavour was not producing the final touch on target.

At the other end, Griffiths kept Town in the game with a fine one-on-one save to deny Penrhyn striker Tomos Smith.

From Kristian Pierce’s 64th minute corner Ashley rose higher than anyone to head the ball downward and force keeper Jones into a fine save.

In the 76th minute Jacob Barratt replaced the hard working Fleming and the switch paid instant dividends.

Within a minute Barratt had scored and brought the sides level. Stuart Jones sent a long ball up to Sam Jones who flicked the ball goalward.

Both Penrhyndeudraeth’s defender and keeper challenged for the ball and in a mix up Barratt pounced to find the net.

Late pressure from Denbigh brought no reward, so it was down to penalties.

The home side proved the better converters, scoring with all four of their shots with Denbigh only managing two thanks to the heroics of Morgan Jones.

CPD Penrhyndeudraeth
Morgan Jones, Carwyn Price, Aaron Griffiths, Liam Watson, Richard Jones, Deegan John, Steven Jones, Jack Davis, Tomos Smith, Iwan Thomas, Cai Henshaw. Subs: Robert Watson, Adam Griffiths, Kevin Lloyd, Huw Quaeck, Barry Evans

Denbigh Town
Stuart Griffiths, Matty Morris, Stuart Jones, Moses Barnett, Billy Holmes, Paul Fleming, Leigh Craven, Will Ashley, Kristian Pierce, Sam Jones, Mark Roberts: Subs: Jacob Barratt, Sion Jones, Lee Davey, Owain Roberts.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: