Chris Venables makes it five Golden Boot titles and second in a row with Bala

Chris Venables is the Golden Boot winner for a fifth time. Picture: Bala Town FC Twitter

Chris Venables of Bala Town is celebrating again after winning the fifth Cymru Premier League Golden Boot of his career.

The 35-year-old made it back-to-back top scorer titles for the Lakesiders after heading the 2020-21 chart with 24 goals.

His total of 22 last season also made him leading marksman for Colin Caton’s side and the league.

During the 2020-21 season, the former Llanelli and Aberystwyth Town ace also became just the fifth Welsh Premier player to reach 200 league goals.

He marked the feat in style with a hat-trick against Barry Town United, his first net-finder taking him to the double century.

Venables’ fifth award makes him only second to Rhys Griffiths in the Golden Boot stakes, the current Penybont player-manager and former Llanelli star having won it seven times.

What makes Venables’ achievement all the more remarkable is the fact he operates as an attacking midfielder, rather than an out-and-out striker.

While he scores all types of goals, his trademark efforts, especially since he joined Bala, have been those deadly back-post headers opposing defences must have grown to dread.

Second in the Golden Boot chart this season was Connah’s Quay Nomads poacher Mike Wilde, now 37, who hit 19 goals and also passed the 200-milestone during the campaign.

Who says it is just a young man’s game?


VENABLES Chris (Bala Town) 24
WILDE Mike (Connah’s Quay Nomads) 19
DRAPER Greg (The New Saints) 14
HULBERT Oliver (Cardiff Met University) 14
EVANS Will (Bala Town) 13
BROBBEL Ryan (The New Saints) 12
EVANS Eliot (Cardiff Met University) 12
ROBLES Louis (The New Saints) 12
McLAGGON Kayne (Barry Town United) 11
MORRIS Callum (Connah’s Quay Nomads) 10


1992–93 Steve Woods (Ebbw Vale) 29
1993–94 Dave Taylor (Porthmadog) 43
1994–95 Frank Mottram (Bangor City) 31
1995–96 Ken McKenna (Conwy United) 38
1996–97 Tony Bird (Barry Town) 42
1997–98 Eifion Williams (Barry Town) 40
1998–99 Eifion Williams (Barry Town) 28
1999–2000 Chris Summers (Cwmbrân Town) 28
2000–01 Graham Evans (Caersws) 25
2001–02 Marc Lloyd Williams (Bangor City) 47
2002–03 Graham Evans (Caersws) 24
2003–04 Graham Evans (Caersws) 24
2004–05 Marc Lloyd Williams (Total Network Solutions) 34
2005–06 Rhys Griffiths (Port Talbot Town) 28
2006–07 Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli) 30
2007–08 Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli) 40
2008–09 Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli) 31
2009–10 Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli) 30
2010–11 Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli) 25
2011–12 Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli) 19
2012–13 Michael Wilde (The New Saints) 25
2013–14 Chris Venables (Aberystwyth Town) 24
2014–15 Chris Venables (Aberystwyth Town) 28
2015–16 Chris Venables (Aberystwyth Town) 20
2016–17 Jason Oswell (Newtown) 22
2017–18 Greg Draper (The New Saints) 22
2018–19 Greg Draper (The New Saints) 27
2019–20 Chris Venables (Bala Town) 22
2020-21 Chris Venables (Bala Town) 24


7 – Rhys Griffiths
5 – Chris Venables
3 – Graham Evans
2 – Greg Draper, Eifion Williams, Marc Lloyd Williams
1 – Steve Woods, Dave Taylor, Frank Mottram, Ken McKenna, Tony Bird, Chris Summers, Michael Wilde, Jason Oswell.


1 Marc Lloyd Williams 319
2 Rhys Griffiths 271 *
3 Lee Hunt 209
4 Michael Wilde 206 *
5 Chris Venables 202 *
6 Chris Summers 177
7 Greg Draper 165 *
8 John Toner 161
9 Graham Evans 157
10 Stuart Rain 150

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: