Champions boss Andy Morrison hints he may not be Nomads manager next term

All hail the champions! Picture: NIK MESNEY, NCM MEDIA

Connah’s Quay Nomads manager Andy Morrison is considering his future at the club following the euphoria of landing a second successive Cymru Premier League title yesterday.

Morrison told Sgorio he is tired after a long, hard season and will meet with club owner Gary Dewhurst in the week to discuss whether he remains at Deeside Stadium in 2021-22.

The former Manchester City skipper took over as Nomads boss in November 2015 and has now won two Cymru Premier championships, the Welsh Cup and League Cup, qualified for Europe six times and reached the final of the Scottish Challenge (Irn-Bru) Cup.

On Saturday, Quay’s 2-0 win at Penybont sealed them back-to-back titles.

Asked about the prospect of a second go at the Uefa Champions League next season, Morrison said: “I’m going to speak with my chairman this week. It’s been a long, long, long six years, I’ve had nine years now in the Welsh League, I’ve had nine European campaigns now.

“If I stay, then it’s two weeks and we’re back in training again and I’m tired, my voice is tired, my vocal chords are tired. I’ll speak with the chairman this week and we’ll see where we go from here.

“It’s been a fantastic journey – we’ve retained the title and we’ll see where we go from there.”

Andy Morrison with the Cymru Premier title trophy

Commenting on his feelings after taking the title again, he added: “It’s one of the greatest days of my life.

“Absolutely fantastic, I’m proud to have managed in the Welsh League and be manager of the champions for the second year on the trot.”

Goals from George Horan and Aeron Edwards saw Nomads over the line at Penybont. The Deesiders needed to win to make sure of a sixth title for North Wales out of 29 Cymru Premier seasons.

Second-place TNS overcame Barry Town United 2-0, but finished two points behind the Nomads.

Results – Saturday, May 15

Championship Conference
Barry Town United 3 Caernarfon Town 2 (Darren Thomas 45, 90)
Penbont 0 Connah’s Quay Nomads 2 (George Horan 6, Aeron Edwards 75)
The New Saints 2 (Ben Clark 10, Adrian Cieslewicz 54) Bala Town 0

Play-Off Conference
Cardiff Met University 2 Flint Town United 1 (Ross Weaver 58)
Haverfordwest County 2 Cefn Druids 0
Newtown 0 Aberystwyth Town 4

Final Table 2020-21

League Champions 1992/93-2020-21

1992–93 Cwmbran Town
1993–94 Bangor City
1994–95 Bangor City
1995–96 Barry Town
1996–97 Barry Town
1997–98 Barry Town
1998–99 Barry Town
1999–00 Total Network Solutions
2000–01 Barry Town
2001–02 Barry Town
2002–03 Barry Town
2003–04 Rhyl
2004–05 Total Network Solutions
2005–06 Total Network Solutions
2006–07 The New Saints
2007–08 Llanelli
2008–09 Rhyl
2009–10 The New Saints
2010–11 Bangor City
2011–12 The New Saints
2012–13 The New Saints
2013–14 The New Saints
2014–15 The New Saints
2015–16 The New Saints
2016–17 The New Saints
2017–18 The New Saints
2018–19 The New Saints
2019–20 Connah’s Quay Nomads
2020-21 Connah’s Quay Nomads

Number of title wins

The New Saints 13 (1999–00, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2006–07, 2009–10, 2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2018–19)

Barry Town 7 (1995–96, 1996–97, 1997–98, 1998–99, 2000–01, 2001–02, 2002–03)

Bangor City 3 (1993–94, 1994–95, 2010–11)

Connah’s Quay Nomads 2 (2019–20, 2020-21)

Rhyl 2 (2003–04, 2008–09)

Llanelli 1 (2007–08)

Cwmbran Town 1 (1992–93)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: