Welcome to the first-ever women’s cricket league in North Wales!

This month sees the launch of North Wales’ first-ever women’s cricket league!

Eight teams will compete in one division for the 2021 season – Bethesda, Carmel, Conwy, Colwyn Bay, Dolgellau, Llandudno, Northop and Northop Hall.

Matches will be eight-a-side and played under the softball method.

League co-ordinator Rachel Warrenger said: “The league is starting because women’s softball cricket has grown a lot in the past couple of years and there’s a demand for something more competitive than the women’s softball festivals which have been staged in North Wales.

“The aim of the league is to give the clubs competing more opportunities to play and to continue to grow the women’s game in North Wales, it will also let young girls playing see there is a pathway for them to continue playing into adulthood.”

The eight clubs will host triangular round-robin games on alternate dates.

It all kicks off on Sunday, May 23, with the following fixtures:

Venue – Conwy Cricket Club

Conwy Celts v Northop CC Women’s 1st XI; Conwy Celts v Carmel and District Women’s and Girls’ XI; Northop CC Women’s 1st XI v Carmel and District Women’s and Girls’ XI.

Venue – The Oval, Llandudno

Llandudno CC Women and Girls v Northop Hall Women’s 1st XI; Llandudno CC Women and Girls v Colwyn Bay Women’s 1st XI; Northop Hall Women’s 1st XI v Colwyn Bay Women’s 1st XI. 

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: