Skip to toolbar

Welsh Cup classics No 14: Glantraeth v NEWI Cefn Druids (2004-05)

Paul Whelan (right) managed a great Glantraeth side

Glantraeth 2 (C Roberts 48, K Roberts 57 pen)
NEWI Cefn Druids 0
Welsh Cup round two – 2004/05

Fifteen years ago CPD Glantraeth caused a big upset in the Welsh Cup for the second season running.

Twelve months earlier, in 2003/04, the Anglesey side had produced one of the all-time shocks in the competition when they dumped out then five-time winners, Bangor City of the Welsh Premier, 7-6 on penalties at Farrar Road after a 0-0 draw.

Cymru Alliance club Glan went on to progress all the way to the quarter-finals, becoming just the second team from the island to do so in the cup’s long history – and the first since Holyhead Town achieved the feat twice in the 1960s – before exiting 4-1 at The New Saints.

So when another Welsh Premier outfit, Cefn Druids, landed a trip to Cae Trefdraeth in the second round of the 2004/05 competition, they must have been more than a little concerned.

And what a day October 1, 2004, proved to be for the islanders as they again made national cup headlines at the same stage they had the previous campaign.

They had needed spot-kicks to see off Bangor, but this time finished the task in 90 minutes with a 2-0 home win over the Druids, eight-time Welsh Cup winners, but not having lifted the trophy in 100 years, the last occasion in 1904.

After a goal-less first half at Glantraeth, Craig Roberts broke the deadlock on 48 minutes and a Kevin Roberts penalty after 57 gave the Cymru Alliance leaders victory.

“To beat a League of Wales side again is great for the lads and what we want now is another home draw,” said Glantraeth manager Paul Whelan after the game.

Unfortunately they were out of luck. The third round delivered a long trip to Welsh Premier high-flyers Haverfordwest County where the Anglesey hopefuls came unstuck 3-0.

The following season, however, was the greatest in Glantraeth’s history as Whelan led them to a Cymru Alliance League and Cup double.

Glantraeth squad 2004/05

Paul Pritchard, Emyr Rowlands, Richard F Owen, Warren Gibbs, Gareth Owen, Peter McCann, Neil Roberts, Mark Owens, Darren Jones, Danny Hughes, Mark Thomas, Paul Whelan, Cemlyn Williams, Kevin Roberts, Rob Williams, Richie Owen, Craig Roberts, James Burgess.

You may have missed

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: