North Wales Cricket League Divisions 1-4: unbeaten Conwy stunned by on-fire Bethesda

Buckley won a low-scoring contest at Brymbo seconds to edge up to second in Division Two

North Wales League Division One

Bethesda inflicted a first defeat of the season on leaders Conwy in some style at Bodlondeb.

Pesda were put into bat and were bowled out for 204, Nicholas Parry best with 61, while Matthew Harrington struck 35 and Dewi Roberts 34, skipper Shaun Davies collecting 5-58 for the hosts.

It was a huge surprise when Conwy were dismissed for just 80 in reply, Kevin Evans 4-24, Mathew Buchanan 4-35 and Richard Lee Williams 2-6 from eight overs for the visitors, who claimed the maximum 15-0 points victory.

Second-place Llay Welfare pulled off an impressive seven-wicket triumph at Mold.

The hosts were restricted to 113-9 off 50 overs, Ethan Griffiths 3-39 and Jack Aplin 2-5 for the away side, who then breezed to 115-3, Jack Parry 30, for a 13-2 verdict.

The points split was also 13-2 when Dolgellau turned on the power at Llanrwst.

Electing to bat, Dol set 210-8 off 50 overs, Greg Smithies 50, Mark Edmondson 37 and Jack Williamson 34, then the Rwsters were bowled out for 137, opener Callum Jones 41.

For the travellers, the master of economy Phil Leeds returned a miserly 3-21 from 12 overs, Edmondson bagging 3-36.

The ever-consistent Ian Martin scooped 4-12 off 10 overs as Hawarden Park sent 10-man Bersham packing for just 110, skipper Suresh Lakmal Koswaththage the only home batsman to shine with a defiant 68.

Michael Wootton also notched 3-17 off nine for Park, who made it to 115-5 in response to seal a 12-3 decision, skipper David Hughes topping the chart with 39.

Controversy reigned when bad light caused an early intervention in the Abergele v Carmel clash.

Carmel posted 195-9 off 50 overs, Ryan Roberts 47 no, Daniel Owens 38 and Oliver Saynor 30, David Moulson 3-35 for the hosts.

Gele were 74-4 off 27 in reply when bad light stopped play. The home side protested that the light improved enough later to continue, but the umpires disagreed.

As the home innings had gone beyond 20 overs, a Duckworth-Lewis style method was used to determine a winner and Carmel were declared victorious by 13-2. Saynor pocketed 3-24 for the visitors.

Division Two

Buckley are up to second after a five-wicket victory in a low-scoring affair at Brymbo seconds.

Rhys Jones grabbed 4-10 off 10 overs, Louis Parry 3-15 and Lee Taylor 2-7 as Bucks sent their hosts tumbling to 62 all out.

The visitors reached 63-5 to seal a 12-3 decision, Gary Mayers 20 no and Samuel Edwards 20, Nigel Roberts 3-18 for the Steelmen.

Halkyn defeated Northop seconds by two wickets (11-4) in a cracker at Pant Newydd.

Lloyd Hayes made 51 as Northop set 169-9 off 45 overs, Gareth Thomas a superb 4-15 off 10 overs for the hosts, then Timothy Davies produced a match-winning innings of 93 not out as Halkyn reached 171-8 with eight balls to spare, Josh Edwards a vital 32 down the order, Hayes 3-16 and Scott Oates 3-43 for the losing side.

Marchwiel and Wrexham were put in at Gresford 2nds and were all out for 134, Nick Husbands 45, but the hosts in response could only manage 121, George Morris 55, Ryan Williams 3-21 for the visitors, who won 11-4.

Despite an admirable 91 from veteran Mike Phennah, Llay Welfare seconds lost by two wickets at home to Menai Bridge seconds.
Phennah dominated in Llay’s effort of 169-8, James Jones 2-23 off 10 for Bridge, who hit back with 170-8, Shaun Whitley 63, Callum Andrews 40, Joe Howell 4-38 for the home team. Points: 4-11.

Leaders Bangor seconds were awarded 10 points after scheduled visitors Corwen conceded and are deducted 15 points.

Division Three

Table-toppers St Asaph seconds took the full 15 points in their home thrashing of next-to-bottom Connah’s Quay seconds.

Inserted by the visitors, Saints amassed 223-6, Andrew Pierce leading the charge with 82, Dominic Haynes 42 and Amer Jamil 41, the latter then snaring 7-28 as the Quay were dismissed for 89, despite a stoic 64 not out from Jack Griffiths.

Rocco Franco’s 90 not out guided Buckley seconds to a magnificent two-wicket success against Abergele seconds at Lane End.

Luke Sellers struck 70 and skipper Sam Painter 32 as Gele were bowled out for 178, Nathan Barton 3-35 and Samuel Jones 2-6, then after being five down for not very many, Franco’s heroic effort, plus 33 by skipper Mike Wooton and 19 no from number 10 Jack Whitley saw Bucks over the line on 179-8 (11-4).

Ten-man Carmel and District seconds were 89 all out, extras top-scoring with 31, and in reply Denbigh seconds scrambled to 90-8 having been 24-6 for an 11-4 victory, Ian Hall 35 no, veteran Dafydd Timothy a season’s best 5-21 for the Flintshire hosts.

Gwersyllt Park seconds skittled out Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn seconds for 57, then reached 58-1 for a 14-1 return.

Pontblyddyn seconds posted 183-8 at Hawarden Park seconds, Andrew Watkin 49, Craig Wilson 3-28 for the hosts, who were restricted to 172-9, Wilson 47, Ahmed Javed 39 no, Watkin taking 5-29 and Aled Roberts 4-29 for the visitors, who scooped the honours 11-4.

Division Four

Clwb Criced Caernarfon made light work of their hosts Marchwiel and Wrexham seconds.

Simon Davis claimed a remarkable 5-1 off eight overs as the home team were blitzed out for a paltry 30, extras the top contributor with seven, Llyr Erddyn Davies and Monis Altaf both 2-6 for the Cofis.

Caernarfon skipped to 31-0 in eight overs, Jason Parry 21 no, for a 15-0 outcome which keeps them at the peak.

Second-place Conwy seconds limited Rhewl to 103, then coasted to 104-1, Carwyn Thomas and Lewis Jones both 40 no to seal a 14-1 result.

Bethesda seconds set 152-6 at Llandudno seconds, Andrew Day (66) and Jez Shea (52) sharing in an opening wicket stand of 130, Tom Thornton 2-8 off six for the hosts, who did well to reach 153-2 for a 14-1 points haul, Tom Bleasdale 52, David Barlow 45 no and Alex Owen 33 no.

Skipper Jamie Hughes’ unbeaten 62 helped Ruthin seconds come up with a reasonable 142-8 at home to Dolgellau seconds, but the visitors’ batting proved too good, producing a winning 146-3 off just 28.3 overs, Stuart Evans 46 no and Dan Williams 44.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: