North Wales Cricket League – Bethan Hughes claims career best 6-16 in Bangor seconds’ Division Two victory

Gareth Thomas (left) took 3-12 off 10 overs for Halkyn in a fine win at home to Menai Bridge seconds. Pic: @eventphotowales

Welsh Cricket Cup round three

Both northern semi-finals were abandoned incomplete today due to rain.
At Mochdre, Colwyn Bay set 237-4 off 40 overs, Zack Gidlow cracking an unbeaten 119, and in reply the North Wales League Premier Division hosts were 46-0 off six overs before the weather ended the contest early.
Denbigh, who lost heavily to Llandudno in the league yesterday, were in trouble again in the rematch after being dismissed for 114, Sam Lewis 34, skipper Jack Rimmington 3-15 and Will Sissons 3-18 for the visitors.
However, the heavens opened and Tudno’s reply never started.

North Wales League

Division One

Leaders Conwy looked in danger of defeat after being bowled out for just 93 at Ruthin, but the hosts could only manage 77 in response.
Jonathon Davies top-scored with 31 for Conwy, Sandeep Anantharaman a brilliant 5-22 for the home side off 12 overs, but Shaun Davies (4-17) and Gareth Thomas (3-7) helped ensure Ruthin finished 16 short. Points: 4-11.
It was a good weekend for Gwersyllt Park as they collected 26 points from two games.
At Carmel and District on Saturday, Park bowled out the hosts for 67, Neil Pearson 3-11 and Shaun Hughes 3-18, then Gwersyllt made it to 68-5 for a 12-3 verdict.
The following day saw Gwersyllt sweep aside Ruthin 14-1.
Bethesda turned in a powerful batting performance to sink Mold 14-1.
Pesda set 231-3 off 50 overs, Carwyn L Williams 76, Nicholas Parry 69 not out and Matthew Harrington 42 no, then dismissed the visitors for 139, George Deniz 32, Nathan Goodright 3-24 and Richard Lee Williams 3-28.
Dolgellau comfortably saw off Abergele by seven wickets at The Marian.
Gele were restricted to 135-9 off 50 overs, Mark Edmondson 4-43, Phil Leeds 2-16 off 12 and Sam Williams 2-21, then the hosts posted 136-3, Greg Smithies 35, Mike Thompson 3-28, for a 13-2 points decision.
Hawarden Park chalked up 154-8, Adam Cross 48 no, Alwyn Williams 4-29 and Leon Doran 4-47 for visitors Llanrwst, who could only muster 106 all out in reply despite a defiant 60 from opener Scott Thomas, Tom Norris 5-44 and Michael Wootton 3-10 from nine overs sealing the hosts a 12-3 verdict.

Division Two

Bethan Hughes returned marvellous career best figures of 6-16 as table-toppers Bangor seconds cruised to victory at Marchwiel and Wrexham.
Put into bat, the hosts were all out for 130, Jason Wharam a determined 62, Hughes’ six-wicket haul coming from 8.2 overs.
Bangor eased to 131-3 in 32.2 for a 13-2 result, Andy Williams 34.
Alex North struck 55 and opener Ben Roberts 37 as Halkyn set a winning 190-8 at home to nine-player Menai Bridge seconds, who were limited to 91-8, James Jones 32, Gareth Thomas an outstanding 3-12 off 10 overs for the Flintshire side. Points: 14-1.
Phil Bradfield’s ton was the stand-out knock as Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn accomplished a big run chase at Llay Welfare seconds.
Llay set a useful 200-6 from 45 overs at The Ring, Joe Howell 71 and Jack Aplin 33, Tim Brockley 3-22 off 10 and Ryan Wynne 3-25 for the visitors.
Bradfield, whose previous career century was achieved with Chirk in 2014, made 108 and Chris Geary was 68 no as Mynydd made it to 201-4 off 38.1 for a 13-2 outcome.
Leo Grieg finished up 114 not out as Northop seconds racked up a maximum points decision over Brymbo seconds.
The hosts amassed 298-3 off 45 overs, Andrew Oates 74 and skipper Chris Brooks 60, and the Steelmen were kept down to 154-7, Gareth Parry 52 no and Oates 4-22.
Other score: Mochdre seconds (10) 0-0 Corwen (-15) 0-0 (conceded).

Division Three

St Asaph seconds are just a point behind leaders Mold seconds after they thrashed the table-toppers by eight wickets at Chester Road.
Evergreen star bowler David North claimed a stunning 5-7 off 10 overs and Richard Aram scooped 4-18 as Mold were all out for 106, George Jones 52, and Saints reached 107-2, skipper Aram 43 no for a 14-1 outcome.
Luke Sellers finished 59 no as Abergele seconds posted 201-6 off 45 overs against nine-player Pwllheli seconds, who were rolled over for 71, David Moulson 3-0 and Rick Ashby 3-28. Points: 15-0.
Dave Evans starred with 103 not out in Pontblyddyn seconds‘ effort of 205 all out at Gwersyllt Park seconds, Daniel Jones 3-22, and the hosts were dismissed for 153 in response, Jones 40 and Harry Archer 39, Aled Roberts 5-32 for Pont. Points: 2-13.
Denbigh seconds set 181-7 at home to Hawarden Park seconds, Danny Hopkins 58 no, and the visitors were all out for 131, Martin Hinton carrying his bat for 58 no, Keiran Lucas 4-26. Points: 12-3.
Leon Davies snared 3-12 and Dafydd Timothy 3-13 as Carmel and District seconds blitzed out 10-player Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn seconds for 56, then responded with 59-4, Nick Hughes 30 no, for a 13-2 result.

Division Four

Clwb Criced Caernarfon went top of the standings after racing to a 10-wicket triumph at Llandudno seconds.
Ian Morgan grabbed 5-6 off nine overs and Barry Roberts 3-15 as 10-player Tudno were blasted out for a paltry 29, then the Cofis coasted to 33-0 for a 15-0 verdict.
Llangollen beat Bethesda seconds 12-3, 115-7 playing 116-5, while Conwy seconds took 10 points against Marchwiel and Wrexham seconds, who conceded and have 15 points deducted.
Llanrwst seconds bowled out visitors Halkyn seconds for 55, Chris Nicolson 3-7 off six overs and hit back with 56-3 for a 13-2 result.
In a Vale of Clwyd derby, hosts Rhewl concocted a score of 115-7 off 40 overs, Ashley Cook and Huw Watson 33, Dafydd Cale 2-14 from nine, then Ruthin seconds responded with 116-4 in 34.1, Ieuan Wynne Lewis 60 no, Stefan Lloyd 3-24 for the home side.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: