Promotion and relegation issues confirmed – and some joy amidst the gloom for Bangor City

Llangefni Town are going up

Promotion issues for Welsh pyramid tiers two, three and four affecting North Wales football were confirmed today.

Welsh Alliance champions Llangefni Town, Mid-Wales League title winners Llanfair United and Welsh National League Premier Division runners-up Corwen will all be elevated to the former Huws Gray Alliance, now known as Championship North, for 2019-20.

Relegated to Welsh Alliance Division One from the Huws Gray Alliance are Holyhead Hotspur and Denbigh Town.

Holywell Town finished in the third-from-bottom relegation position, but they may still stay up depending on the outcome of Bangor City’s ongoing appeal against a 42-point deduction for alleged rule breaches during the 2018-19 Huws Gray Alliance campaign.

Promoted to Welsh Alliance Division One for 2019-20 are this season’s Division Two champions Glan Conwy and runners-up Blaenau Amateurs.

Dropping down from Welsh Alliance Division One into Division Two are Llandudno Junction and Barmouth and Dyffryn United.

Coming up into Welsh Alliance Division Two are 2018-19 Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League Premier Division champions Llandudno Amateurs and Gwynedd League runners-up Gwalchmai. Champions Menai Bridge Tigers were rejected on ground criteria issues.

The make-up of the Welsh National, Gwynedd, Vale of Clwyd and Conwy, North East Wales and Anglesey leagues for 2019-20 are still to be confirmed.

Some joy among the gloom for Bangor City in Fair Play Awards

Bangor City (blue) in action at Holywell Town this season

Not a lot went right for Bangor City last season – but they have won an award for their endeavours.

The Citizens received the FAW Fair Play Award for the Huws Gray Alliance for the best disciplinary record and lowest on-field offences in their division.

City could yet be relegated from the HGA – now Championship North – depending on the result of their appeal to the FAW against a 42-point deduction for alleged rule breaches.

Each of the winners will be given £1,000 prize money for winning their respective divisions FAW Fair Play Table and be presented with the FAW Fair Play trophy.

List of FAW FAIR PLAY winners relevant to North Wales

The New Saints (JD Welsh Premier League)
Briton Ferry Llansawel (Orchard Welsh Premier Women’s League)
Bangor City (Huws Gray Alliance League)
Mynydd Llandegai (Lock Stock Welsh Alliance League Division One)
CPD Llannefydd (Lock Stock Welsh Alliance League Division Two)
Corwen (Welsh National League Premier Division)
Overton Recreation (Welsh National League Division One)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: