Menai Bridge are crowned North Wales T20 cricket champions

Menai Bridge are the 2019 North Wales T20 champions

Congratulations to Menai Bridge CC – the 2019 North Wales T20 cricket champions.

The Anglesey side secured the title on Sunday with a pair of wins over St Asaph and Brymbo.

They now advance to the regional finals in Staffordshire representing North Wales to play the winners from the Manchester, Cheshire and Staffs leagues on July 28. The other three area finals have not taken place yet.

Taking on Brymbo in Sunday’s finals day at St Asaph, Menai batted first and rattled up 145-6, skipper Dion Holden hitting 54, Jack Gower 44 and young Sam Bixby 15 not out.

Brymbo were 87 all out, Liam Bibby and Holden nabbing three wickets apiece and Matthew Jones two, giving Menai a 58-run triumph.

Next up were the hosts at Elwy Grove Park.

Bridge were put into bat and amassed a mammoth 202-3 off 20 overs, Carl Jones cracking 83 off 51 balls, including six sixes, and Jack Gower slamming 63 from 45 deliveries, the pair sharing in a third-wicket stand of 137.

Jason Foulkes picked up 2-27 for Saints.

Due to rain, Asaph were set a revised target of 117 off 11.1 overs, but were limited to 64-5, Danny Williams 20 and Daniel Ryan 15 not out, Liam Bibby with 2-21 for the islanders, who won by 52 runs.

Because of the inclement weather, St Asaph v Brymbo was not played, but Menai had already secured the trophy.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: