Three other North Wales cricketers choose their ‘All-Time World Cup’ XI

Nigel Roberts (back row – furthest right) is surely one of North Wales’ finest ever cricketers

Jack Rimmington has created plenty of debate through selecting an all-time North Wales Cricket ‘World Cup’ XI in his Beyond the Boundary column.

As well as constructive comments, we’ve received three alternative ‘best of’ teams compiled by North Wales cricketers.

Here are Bangor CC captain Gareth Edwards’ choices

1 Mark Jones (Brymbo)
Possibly the most gifted local batsman I’ve seen. Over pitch to him at your peril.
2 Stewart Williams (Brymbo)
An opening pair to fear (alongside Jones). Accumulated runs week after week, season after season.

3 Nigel Roberts (Brymbo)
Keep the ball away from middle and leg or else start looking for the ball in the next village. Useful off-spin darts too.

4 Glenn Chambers (Pontblyddyn)
Stylish accumulator of runs and still at it. Useful seamer too.

5 Dave Wallace (Conwy)
Batting middle order in this team to give solidity but a pain in the butt opener whose unorthodox style got him ‘000s of runs. So hard to dismiss.

6 Phil Davies (Pontblyddyn)
So often Glenn’s partner and free scoring in big partnerships.

7 Phil Lloyd (Brymbo – WK)
Handy batter but lightning with the gloves and always had a witty chirp for the batter.

8 Gareth Davies (Mochdre)
Bowling with swing and seam movement, always a handful. Handy to come in at 8 too.

9 Dave North (St Asaph)
Always tricky to face over so many years. Good pace and always ‘at’ the batsman with line and length. A few useful runs down the order too.

10 Peter Banham (Bangor)
The slowest spinner of all time? Such a control of length, the ball never seemed to quite reach the batter, hence so many caught dismissals.

11 Roman Lecki (Bersham)
Thought I’d include a left-handed bowler. Swung the ball both ways at decent pace. One of the few to master running down the famous Bersham bank hill.
A bias towards batting in this team, but I challenge Jack Rimmington’s team of pups to chase down whatever total they posted.

Amlyn Layton (Llanrwst) XI

Duncan Midgley
Will Evans (wk)
Glenn Chambers
David Fox
Martin Burger
James Claybrook
Harrison Jones
Campbell Marr
David North
Jack Rimmington
Ashley Wood
Sam Rimmington
Robbie Marshall (wk)
Chris Ellwood
Simon Perry

Rhys Jones (Pontblyddyn)

1 Phil Davies (Pont)
2 Stu Williams (Brymbo)
3 Nigel Roberts (Brymbo)
4 David Lloyd (Brymbo)
5 Brian Williams (Mold)
6 Jamie Griffiths (Mold)
7 Glenn Chambers (Quay & Pont)
8 Matt Needham (Quay)
9 Glenn Lalor (Halkyn)
10 Jack Rimmington (Llandudno)
11 Shaun Roberts (Brymbo)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: