Division One cricket – Sam Lewis hits career best for Denbigh, Halkyn thrash Hawarden Park

Sam Lewis scored a career best 126 for Denbigh on Saturday




Buckley (1) 116-10 Denbigh (14) 211-5

Sam Lewis hit a career best 126 as Denbigh made it 12 straight wins in Division One.

Opener Lewis recorded a second century of the season but also his biggest-ever score, dominating the away side’s total of 211-5 off 45 overs.

Yet it all started so precariously for the visitors as they crashed to 29-4, before Lewis and Daniel Nixon (52 no) put on 172 for the fifth wicket.

Fabio Franco caused the most damage in the early collapse, eventually claiming 3-39 for the hosts.

Bucks were bowled out for 116, Alex Storey best with 23 not out, Stuart Griffiths 3-22, Alec Lewis 2-15, Harrison Jones and Darren Nixon both 2-19 for the away side.

Hawarden Park (1) 96-10 Halkyn (14) 176-6

Andrew Watkin had a memorable day for Halkyn. Picture: GARETH PRESTIDGE

Andrew Watkin took star billing for Halkyn, top-scoring with 49 and taking 3-8 as his team dished out an unexpected thrashing at Moor Lane.

Third entertained second in this encounter, visitors Halkyn winning the toss and electing to bat.

Opener Watkin was caught just one short of his 50, while Shamar Forde made 35 and Jamie Griffiths 32 not out in a modest effort of 176-6 off 45 overs.

Tom Norris took 3-50 and Ian Martin 2-37 for the hosts.

The Park had a batting line-up more than capable on paper of reaching 177, but they never got going and finished up being rolled over for 96.

Watkin (3-8), Nathan Lavender, who caused early havoc with his 3-24, and 2-17 from Ben Roberts clinched Halkyn an emphatic 14-1 verdict.

Bangor 2nd XI (2) 176-7 Marchwiel & Wrexham (13) 177-5

An unbroken sixth-wicket stand of 67 between Josh Williams (45 no) and Michael Forgrave (29 no) guided Marchwiel and Wrexham to the winning post at Ty Newudd.

Bangor seconds set 176-7 off 45 overs, Andrew Savage top contributor with 46 not out, Peter Jones next highest on 29.

Sion Edwards took an impressive 2-24 from nine for the visitors, who hit back with 177-5 in 38.1.

Skipper George Forgrave (30) did best before Williams and Michael Forgrave took command from 110-5 onwards.

Tomos Davies grabbed 2-27 and Gareth Edwards 2-47 for the hosts.

Connah’s Quay (3) 238-7 Conwy (12) 286-6

Skipper Daniel Davies struck a fantastic 118 not out as Conwy came out on top in a high-scoring contest at Central Park.

The visitors made the most of being put into bat, amassing 286-6 off 45 overs, Davies’ innings coming off 117 balls and including 17 fours.

He shared in a partnership of 157 for the second wicket with Evan Williams (77).

Jack Griffiths snapped up 4-61 off eight overs for the home side.

The Quay gave it a great go in response, captain Tom Hooson finishing on 121 not out in a total of 238-7.

Darren Jones added 37, Evan Williams bagging 3-53 for the winners.

Gwersyllt Park (14) 196-3 Abergele (1) 192-9

Skipper Iroshan De Silva’s undefeated 86 was key as Gwersyllt Park ran out comfortable seven-wicket victors at home to Abergele.

Invited to bat, Gele set 192-9, captain Ben Garnett 47 and Gareth Edwards 37, Alfie Lythgoe leading the Park’s bowling charge with 3-7, De Silva 2-17 and Neil Pearson 2-27.

In reply, De Silva and Cai Pearson (31) put on 56 for the first wicket before the skipper added another 89 with Lewis Cole (43) for the third.

The winning target was reached in just 36 overs.

Llanrwst (14) 134-3 Dolgellau (1) 129-10

Aron Hughes made an unbeaten 54 for Llanrwst. Picture: MATT JOHNSON

Captain Aron Hughes it was a fantastic day for skippers on Saturday – led the way with 54 not out as Llanrwst won convincingly at Gwydir Park.

Dolgellau were put in and dismissed for 129, Iwan Edwards 3-25, Alwyn Williams 2-21, Scott Thomas 2-22 and Lee Thomas 2-24 for the hosts.

Llanrwst made it to 134-3 in 36 overs, Hughes hitting five fours and three sixes in his unbeaten half-ton, also putting on an unbroken 68 for the fourth wicket with Steffan Horan (19 no).

Opener Edwards made 38 for the Rwsters, Sam Williams snaring 2-20 for the visitors.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: