North Wales Women’s Cricket League – Northop Hall, Llandudno and Conwy all grab win apiece

Conwy Celts started off the season really well

All three competing teams picked up a win in an exciting start to the second North Wales Women’s Cricket League season.

The opening matches of the 2022 campaign were played at Smithy Lane last Sunday and involved host club Northop Hall, Conwy Celts and Llandudno.

The three sides all finished the day with 25 league points.


NORTHOP HALL (5) 84-6 (Net score 254) LLANDUDNO (20) 104-3 (Net 289)
Llandudno won by 35 runs

Llandudno were put into bat and made 104-3, Laura Lambe scoring 25 for once out (net 20) and Charlotte MacKinley posting 19.
Northop’s reply off their 16 allotted overs was 84-6, Hollie Sigsworth scoring 10 and Sara Williams 12 for once out (net 7).
Erin Deering took 3-14 and Amelia Andrew 2-7 for Llandudno.

LLANDUDNO (5) 78-8 (Net 238) CONWY (20) 91-3 (Net 276)
Conwy won by 38 runs

Invited to take first knock, Llandudno compiled 78-8 off their 16 overs, Laura Lambe making 13 and Charlotte McKinley 15 for once out (net 10).
For Celts, Komal Hirani took 3-14, Hannah Dodd 2-9 and Sioned Hill 2-15.
Conwy hit back with 91-3, captain Llinos Hill leading the way with 18, Emma Leighton-Jones 11 and Sioned Hill 10.

NORTHOP HALL (20) 100-3 (Net 285) CONWY (5) 84-5 (Net 259)
Hall won by 26 runs

Skipper Llinos Hill top-scored with 23 and Hannah Dodd added 12 as Conwy managed 84-5 off their 16 overs.
Five Hall bowlers took a wicket apiece.
In reply, the hosts combined well to make 100-3 and win the match by 26 runs.
Kathryn Rhymer made 16, Becky Hicks and Sara Williams 12 apiece, while Stephanie Noonan contributed 15 for once out (net 10).
Sioned Hill grabbed 2-23 for Celts.

RULES 2022

Teams start with 200 runs. They then add the runs they score to the 200 with five taken off for every wicket they lose.
Each innings consists of 16 overs max.
The points system this year has changed so losing teams can still get points.
The winning team gets 20 points and the losing team can get up to 10 bonus points, 5 batting and 5 bowling.
Bonus points are a max of 5 for batting and 5 for bowling, bowling points at 1,3,5,7,9 wickets and batting points at 40, 55, 70, 85,100 runs.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: