Wrexham club is latest to resign from North East Wales Football League

Borras Park Albion celebrate a famous 1-0 win at Bala in the 2019-20 Horace Wynne Cup quarter-finals.

A North Wales senior football division which started the season with 12 clubs is now down to eight.

Borras Park Albion is the latest member of the tier 5 North East Wales Football League Championship to resign.

The Wrexham based team’s demise follows the recent departures of Brymbo Lodge and Railway Rovers, with AFC Bagillt having left in October 2021.

Albion was formed in 1979 from two street teams in Borras Park; Clark Road and Monmouth Road.

Over the years, the club has become largely renowned as a grassroots football giant with a major emphasis on developing junior teams, many of which have been extremely successful.

After the first year of being formed a trip was organised to New York and Borras played in a very large football tournament in Long Island. The following year a twinning was formed with TUS Plettenberg in Germany.

The arrangement has lasted for more than 40 years, building endless football exchange partnerships and friendships.

Borras Park did not enter senior football until 1998-99 when they joined the Welsh National League (Wrexham Area) Division Two.

They were crowned champions at the first attempt and spent two seasons in Division One before being promoted to the Premier in 2001-02.

After nine seasons in the top flight, they were relegated in 2009/10. In 2012/13 they secured a return to the Prem after winning the Division One title. They also lifted the Division One League Cup.

Their first campaign back in the Premier saw them secure a best-ever fourth position, but in 2015-16 their fortunes had plummeted and they resigned mid-season.

Borras returned to senior soccer in 2018-19 when they signed up to the tier five North East Wales League.

As well as ninth and fifth-placed finishes over the next two seasons, Borras also made it to the semi-finals of the 2019/20 Horace Wynne Cup, enjoying a famous 1-0 win at Bala Town Reserves in the last eight.

They were drawn away to Caerwys in the last four, but sadly the pandemic put paid to the competition being completed.

BPA became members of the new North East Wales Football League Championship this season, but unfortunately they have now gone the way of Brymbo Lodge, Railway Rovers and Bagillt, leaving the following eight teams to see out 2021-22:

CPD Bellevue
CPD Caerwys
CPD Sychdyn
Connah’s Quay Town
FC United of Wrexham
Johnstown YFC
Penyffordd Lions
Ruabon Rovers

And it’s farewell to Shotton Steel Vets……

Shotton Steel Vets have stood down from the North East Wales Football League Veterans Premier Division.

This leaves the Premier with just six teams for the rest of 2021-22.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: