NWCFA Junior Cup – Llanystumdwy, Llanfairpwll and Cemaes Bay advance to semi-finals

Llanystumdwy keeper Iwan Davies saved an extra time penalty in the final seconds to see his side to victory


Bodorgan 0
Cemaes Bay 3 (Wiltshire 13, Folksman 56, Williams 85)

Cemaes remained on course to lift the Junior Cup for the first time in their history after reaching the semis at the expense of Bodorgan at Cae Cynlas.

The home side had the strong wind in their advantage for the first 45 minutes but did not make the most of it.

Bay took a 13th minute lead when Sam Wiltshire profited from a Keenan Downey assist.

Bodorgan hit the post just before the break which arrived with a 1-0 scoreline.

The second half again saw Cemaes start the better and they went two-up direct from a Ryan Folksman corner.

The hosts had a big chance to pull one back when Connor Rees went through one-on-one, but Cemaes keeper Dan Jones saved well.

Five minutes from time came a controversial third for the visitors.

Keenan Latham was on the attack for Bodorgan when he appeared to be clearly fouled, but the referee waved play on.

Moments later Cemaes made it 3-0 through Sol Williams.

After protesting about the original challenge, Latham was yellow and then red carded.

CPD Henllan 2 (Lawson 19, Griffiths 90+1)
Llanystumdwy 3 (D Parry 71 & 72, Williams 120)

Darren Parry turned the tie on its head with two quick goals for Llanystumdwy

Iwan Davies was Llanystumdwy’s hero as he saved a penalty in the final seconds of extra time to ensure his team went through.

The only side remaining in the competition from the North Wales Coast East League, Henllan took a 19th minute lead when Rob Lawson’s 25-yard effort caught the wind and flew into the net beyond keeper Davies’ reach.

The home side stayed 1-0 up until the 70th minute introduction of Llan substitute Darren Parry changed the complexion of the tie.

Darren Parry made it 1-1 just seconds after the taking the field, finishing from close range after a Sion Parry attempt came back off the post.

A minute later a long throw into the box came to Darren Parry, who with his back to goal controlled with his chest and flicked the ball past keeper Sam Roberts for 2-1.

Henllan were not finished and in the 91st minute a corner delivered low towards the edge of the box saw Josh Lloyd Griffiths control and apply a great finish to force extra time.

In the 120th minute penalties were looming when a Sion Parry free kick from the left was pushed into the air by keeper Roberts and Tom Williams, also on as a sub, nodded home just inside the post.

Still Henllan refused to give in and immediately went up the other end to win a penalty awarded for a foul by Gruff Sion.

Sam Davies shot to the keeper’s right, but Iwan Davies guessed correctly, kept the ball out and then also saved the rebound which was the last kick of the game.

What a tie!

Llanfairpwll 2 (D Williams 42, C Roberts 60)
Bethesda Athletic 2 (Todd 47, D Hughes 53)
(aet – Llanfairpwll won 7-6 on pens)

Drama aplenty at Maes Eilian where three-time cup winners Llanfairpwll prevailed on spot-kicks.

Gwyndaf Hughes’ side had already beaten Pesda twice in the league this season, but Mark Hughes’ visitors were in the mood for revenge having compiled a long winning streak.

‘Pwll made the breakthrough three minutes before half time when Dylan Williams found the back of the net.

Athletic came back strongly after the restart and within eight minutes were 2-1 up courtesy of goals from Joe Todd and Daniel Hughes.

Llanfairpwll equalised on the hour through Carwyn Roberts and that was the end of the scoring for the rest of the 90 and through extra time.

It was a heart-stopping shoot-out but Llanfair came out on top to advance to the semi-finals.

A great result for the home side, especially considering they were without their two top marksmen Jay Finter and Marquis Holland.

Talysarn Celts P CPD Llannerchymedd P

This match was postponed not long before midday as the weather had caused the pitch at Talysarn to become waterlogged.


2020-21 No competition (Covid-19)
2019-20 Competition cancelled at semi-final stage (Covid-19)
2018-19 Bro Goronwy
2017-18 Nefyn United
2016-17 Bro Goronwy
2015-16 Llanfairpwll Res
2014-15 Llandudno Albion
2013-14 Y Felinheli
2012-13 Y Felinheli
2011-12 Morawelon (Holyhead)
2010-11 Point of Ayr
2009-10 Mynydd Llandegai
2008-09 Trearddur Bay United
2007-08 Barmouth & Dyffryn United
2006-07 Beaumaris Town
2005-06 Caernarfon Borough
2004-05 Llanystumdwy
2003-04 Llangoed
2002-03 Castle Rhuddlan
2001-02 Bethel
2000-01 Nantlle Vale
1999-00 Nefyn United
1998-99 Abergele
1997-98 Glan Conwy
1996-97 Amlwch
1995-96 Gwalchmai
1994-95 Machno United
1993-94 Deiniolen
1992-93 Gwalchmai
1991-92 Llangefni Reserves
1990-91 Gwalchmai
1989-90 Connah’s Quay Albion
1988-89 Llanfairfechan
1987-88 Holyhead Town
1986-87 Bro Goronwy
1985-86 Sychdyn
1984-85 Llannerchymedd
1983-84 Rhydymwyn
1982-83 Llanfairpwll
1981-82 Hawarden Rangers
1980-81 Llanfairpwll
1979-80 Bethesda
1978-79 Llanrug
1977-78 Llanrug
1976-77 Holywell Town
1975-76 Llanfairpwll
1974-75 Llandegfan
1973-74 Mostyn YMCA
1972-73 Mostyn YMCA
1971-72 Mostyn YMCA
1970-71 Llangoed and District
1969-70 Rhyl Wanderers
1968-69 Llechid Colts
1967-68 Machno United
1966-67 Llechid Celts
1965-66 Llanberis
1964-65 Llanberis
1963-64 Llanberis
1962- 63 Brynsiencyn
1961-62 Gwydyr Rovers
1960-61 Gwalchmai
1959-60 Mostyn YMCA
1958-59 Gwalchmai
1957-58 Newborough
1956-57 Newborough
1955-56 Amlwch
1954-55 Saltney Ferry
1953-54 Mostyn YMCA
1952-53 Greenfield United
1951-52 Connah’s Quay Albion
1950-51 Connah’s Quay Albion
1949-50 Amlwch
1948-49 31 TRA, Kinmel Camp
1947-48 Menai Bridge
1946-47 Menai Bridge
1945-46 Mostyn YMCA
1940-45 Competition Suspended
1939-40 Connah’s Quay Albion
1938-39 Bangor Normal College
1937-38 Shotton Athletic
1936-37 Shotton Athletic
1935-36 Llanberis
1934-35 Llanberis
1933-34 Colwyn Bay Comrades
1932-33 Menai Bridge
1931-32 Menai Bridge
1930-31 Mold Alexandra
1929-30 Menai Bridge
1928-29 Prestatyn
1927-28 Bethesda
1926-27 Menai Bridge
1925-26 Llanrwst
1924-25 Beaumaris
1923-24 Abergele
1922-23 O’holt St David’s ( Flint)
1921-22 Glasinfryn
1920-21 Abergele
1919-20 Bangor Athletic Reserves
1914-18 Competition Suspended
1913-14 Menai Bridge
1912-13 Glasinfryn
1911-12 Menai Bridge
1910-11 Holyhead Reserves
1909-10 Bagillt
1908-09 Llanrwst
1907-08 Llanrwst
1906-07 Rhyl Vics
1905-06 Greenfield and Holyhead
1904-05 Bangor Reserves
1903-04 Conway
1902-03 Flint UAC
1901-02 Llanrwst
1900-01 Rhyl Reserves
1899-00 Flint Reserves
1898-99 Colwyn Bay
1897-98 Bangor
1896-97 Buckley Vics
1895-96 Bangor


8 – Menai Bridge
6 – Mostyn YMCA
5 – Gwalchmai, Llanberis
4 – Llanrwst, Connah’s Quay Albion
3 – Bro Goronwy, Abergele, Llanfairpwll, Amlwch
2 – Nefyn United, Bangor, Glasinfryn, Beaumaris, Bethesda, Shotton Athletic, Newborough, Llechid Celts, Machno United, Llangoed and District, Llanrug, Y Felinheli
1 – Morawelon, Buckley Vics, Colwyn Bay, Flint Reserves, Rhyl Reserves, Flint UAC, Conway, Bangor Reserves, Greenfield, Holyhead, Rhyl Vics, Bagillt, Holyhead Reserves, Bangor Athletic Reserves, Oakenholt St David’s, Prestatyn, Hawarden Rangers, Holywell Town, Llandegfan, Rhyl Wanderers, Brynsiencyn, Gwydir Rovers, Saltney Ferry, Greenfield United, 31 TRA Kinmel Camp, Bangor Normal College, Colwyn Bay Comrades, Mold Alex, Sychdyn, Llannerchymedd, Rhydymwyn, Holyhead Town, Llanfairfechan, Llangefni Res, Deiniolen, Glan Conwy, Nantlle Vale, Bethel, Castle Rhuddlan, Llanystumdwy, Caernarfon Borough, Barmouth and Dyffryn, Trearddur Bay United, Mynydd Llandegai, Point of Ayr, Llandudno Albion, Llanfairpwll Res.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: