Cymru Premier – Neal Eardley wonder strike delivers Quay victory, first defeat for Saints, all latest news and stats

Nomads match-winner Neal Eardley. Graphic: NCM MEDIA


Aberystwyth Town 1-0 The New Saints
Caernarfon Town 0-1 Connah’s Quay Nomads
Cefn Druids 1-1 Flint Town United
Haverfordwest County 1-1 Barry Town United
Newtown 3-3 Bala Town
Penybont 2-1 Cardiff Met University


Neil Eardley scored 15 goals in his professional career across the Premier and Football Leagues – but it is doubtful he netted one as good as his first for new club Connah’s Quay Nomads on Tuesday night.

The 33-year-old defender, who represented Blackpool in the PL and earned 16 full Wales caps, joined the Cymru Premier champions last month and was the toast of Deeside with his wonder winner in a 1-0 victory at Caernarfon Town.

In the 68th minute, a cross from Danny Holmes was beaten clear by home keeper Jakub Ojrzynski as far as Eardley, who from about 22 yards controlled and volleyed in off the bar with a magnificent effort.

The win edged Nomads up to fifth, while the Canaries slipped to seventh.

Rob Hughes picked up a late red card for the hosts following a second cautionable offence.

Leaders The New Saints suffered a first league defeat of the season as former Bangor City striker John Owen struck in the 85th minute to secure Aberystwyth Town a 1-0 verdict over Anthony Limbrick’s men at Park Avenue.

Owen was picked out in space in the box and applied a lethal finish to send the home supporters wild.

Although second-place Flint Town United were surprisingly held 1-1 at bottom side Cefn Druids, the point the Silkmen did get edged them to within six of TNS.

Lambasted by “the chairman” after Friday’s 5-0 home loss to Newtown, the Ancients did much better on Tuesday, taking a fifth-minute lead through Mitchell Williams, who slotted into an open goal after fine work by Emmanuel Agyemang.

The Druids had chances to make it two before Mike Wilde’s 11th league goal of the campaign on 77 minutes via a close range header made sure Neil Gibson’s side went home with some reward.

There were six second-half goals in the match between Newtown and Bala Town, which ended 3-3.

Jordan Evans (2) and Nick Rushton shared the home goals, while Nathan Peate (2) and Lassana Mendes replied for the Lakesiders.


Barry Town United 1-1 Aberystwyth Town
Cardiff Met University 0-1 Caernarfon Town
Flint Town United 3-1 Penybont
The New Saints 6-0 Haverfordwest County


Bala Town 0-4 Connah’s Quay Nomads
Cefn Druids 0-5 Newtown


Jack Kenny struck twice for Flint Town United in a cracking 3-1 home win against Penybont.

The prolific Mike Wilde netted the Silkmen’s first goal, James Waite hitting back for the South Walians.

Caernarfon Town needed a boost and delivered it as they pipped Cardiff Met University 1-0 at Cyncoed.

The winning goal arrived in the 23rd minute after an inswinging Rob Hughes corner was flicked on at the near post by Iwan Cartrwright, and Darren Thomas was on hand two metres out at the far post to head in.

Champions Connah’s Quay Nomads hit form in devastating style with a 4-0 triumph at Bala Town on Friday.

Craig Harrison’s side made the ideal start when Callum Morris converted a fourth-minute penalty given for a foul by Nathan Peate on Aeron Edwards.

In the 23rd minute the lead was doubled. John Disney’s fine ball from midfield released Declan Poole down the right and his low cross was turned into a goal by Craig Curran.

Ryan Harrington’s stunner from more than 20 yards made it 3-0 five minutes into the second half.

Harrington and Mullan combined nicely again in the 58th minute to set up Morris for his second of the night.

Bottom side Cefn Druids lost for their 11th time in 12 matches in a 5-0 home thrashing at the hands of Newtown.

Aaron Williams (3) and Nick Rushton (2) shared the goals for the Robins.

(up to and including November 9 – league goals only)

12 – Declan McManus (The New Saints)
11 – Mike Wilde (Flint Town United), Aaron Williams (Newtown)
8 – Jack Kenny (Flint Town United), Kayne McLaggon (Barry Town United)
7 – Dave Edwards (Bala Town)
6 – James Waite (Penybont)
5 – Darren Thomas (Caernarfon Town), Ben Fawcett (Haverfordwest County), Nick Rushton (Newtown)


Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: