North Wales Cricket Premier – Menai win by huge 353 runs, but Saints still top

Jack Gower cracked 167 in a massive win for Menai Bridge



LLANDUDNO (0) 37-10 MENAI BRIDGE (15) 390-3

Jack Gower and Dion Holden both struck centuries in an opening stand of 267 as title-chasers Menai Bridge recorded what must be one of the mightiest winning margins in North Wales Cricket League history.

After amassing 390-3 at The Oval, the Anglesey side then bowled out Llandudno for just 37 to seal a 353-run victory.

Winning the toss and deciding to bat, the visiting openers were unstoppable, Gower hitting a second career highest 167 off 146 balls, including 19 fours and two sixes. His 267 partnership with Holden was Gower’s biggest ever in senior cricket – and visa versa.

Holden made 128 off as many deliveries, clouting 21 boundaries and two maximums.

Luke Jones (44 not out) and Robbie Jones (31) continued the agony for the Tudno attack.

Llandudno’s reply lasted just 15.2 overs, their total of 37 actually including two double-figure scores from Kevin James (14) and Sam Rimmington (12).

Gethin Roberts took 4-8, Holden 3-1 and Patrick Glover 3-25.

ST ASAPH (13) 162-10 GRESFORD (2) 99-10

With five rounds of matches left in the Premier Division title race, St Asaph still top the table by two points from Menai Bridge.

Saints remained in pole position after Saturday’s success over Gresford at Elwy Park Grove.

Calling the coin correctly and opting to bat, the hosts were all out for 162, captain Will Ryan making 56 and Duncan Midgley 29, Cam Evans 4-25 including a hat-trick – and Chris Ellwood 3-37 for the visitors.

Liam Moores scooped 3-24, Jason Foulkes 3-37 and Mathew Ryan 2-14 as Gresford were bowled out for 99, having been 36-5.

BANGOR (12) 127-7 LLAY WELFARE (3) 131-7

While many may see the title battle as a two-horse race between St Asaph and Menai Bridge, Bangor are by no means out of it.

The third-place citizens are 24 points off the lead with five to play after Saturday’s win against Llay.

Llay set 131-7 off 47 overs, Tom Crewe scoring 46, Muhummad Ashfaq taking 3-29 from 12 for the hosts.

Due to rain interruptions, Bangor faced a revised target of 126 from 44 overs.

They got there with a few scares, finishing on 127-7 off 33, Idrees Ijaz with a crucial 44 not out, Jack Billington 2-28, Crewe 2-29 and Jack Aplin 2-32 for the visitors.

BRYMBO (2) 163-10 NORTHOP (13) 224-5

Matthew Williams scored 100 not out for Northop in their victory at Brymbo.

Put into bat, the Flintshire visitors posted 224-5 off 47 overs, fellow opener James Roberts adding 69, Gareth Pugh 3-40 for the hosts.

In response, Brymbo were bowled out for 163, James Claybrook top-scoring with 42, Andrew Oates scooping 5-41 and Mark Poynton 4-27 for the visitors.

CLWB CRICED CONWY (13) 249-6 DENBIGH (2) 197-8

A fine unbroken seventh-wicket partnership between Philip Michael Davies (55 not out) and skipper Rajjenu Britto (43 no) proved crucial for Conwy.

The hosts set 249-6 off 50 overs, Jonathan Davies (33) and Lewis Jones (29) adding useful knocks.

Denbigh were limited to 197-8, Gerallt Lyall with 43, Jon Eccles and Peter Lloyd both 34, Shaun Davies 3-32 and Britto 2-23 for the winners.

PWLLHELI (12) 89-7 MOCHDRE (3) 85-10

A low-scoring thriller at Parc Bodegroes saw Pwllheli edge the honours.

Inserted by the hosts, Mochdre were sent packing for just 85, captain Matthew Humphreys doing best with 34, Morgan Murray-Williams 5-34, Syed Kaleem Aslam 3-9 off six and Iwan Moore 2-16 for the home attack.

Pwllheli staggered to 89-7 in 20.1 overs, Craig Edwards with a vital 32, Owen Davies 3-24 and Gareth Goodson 3-38 for the visitors.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: