Flashback – 15 years ago: Crucial victory as Bangor triumph on their travels

Cwmbran Town 1 (Loverso 9)
Bangor City 2 (Roberts 16, O’Neill 24)
League of Wales – April 17, 2006

Maximum spoils for City at struggling former champions Cwmbran and four points out of six from their double-header long-distance weekend away.

The Crows took the lead with an early goal which tall striker Steve Loverso tapped home after indecision in the Bangor defence allowed a cross to reach him.  The former Taffs Well marksman had also scored in the 3-1 defeat at Aberystwyth over the weekend.

Bangor, driven on by returning player-manager Clayton Blackmore, were soon back on level terms.  

A direct ball forward from midfielder Kieran Killackey was collected by Paul Roberts who made time and space to turn and shoot beyond Lancaster from the edge of the box for a goal timed at 16 minutes.

On 24 minutes it was 2-1 with leading goalscorer Roberts involved once again as he supplied Paul O’Neill, whose close range finish ended home resistance with three quarters of the match remaining.

Half-time: Cwmbran 1 Bangor City 2

After the interval Cwmbran sent on Rhys Carpenter and former Newtown winger Jamie Edwards in a determined attempt to pick up a point.

Much of the second period saw City’s midfield duo of Killackey and Kyle Jones in control of proceedings with Carl Jones and Mike Linnecar showing well on the flanks.

Blackmore, Carl Jones and Carl Lamb went close for City but could not create or convert a clear chance.

Credit to the home side who rallied near the end, Simon Heal and Josh Collins forcing a couple of acrobatic saves from reinstated goalkeeper Andrew Price who gave an assured performance.

Cwmbran Town: Richard Lancaster, Terry Green, Gareth Wyson, Nicky Ward, Josh Collins, Martin Phillips, Simon Heal, Geraint Goodridge, Steve Loverso, Chris Pearce, Kris Hanbury. Subs: Jamie Edwards, Rhys Carpenter, Daniel Claire.

Bangor City: Andrew Price, Clayton Blackmore, Tom Harrison, Kieran Killackey, Martin Beattie, Paul O’Neill, Mike Linnecar, Kyle Jones, Paul Roberts, Carl Lamb, Carl Jones. Subs: Layton Maxwell, Kenny Burgess, Mike Burke, Ben Ogilvy.

Massive thanks to Mike Smith of the Citizens Choice website for another classic report

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: