Five-time winner Marc Limbert had a unique relationship with Welsh Cup

Bangor City's captain Marc Limbert celebrates with the Welsh Cup after beating Llanelli 4-2 in extra time (Photo by Stephen Pond - PA Images via Getty Images)

Bangor City’s captain Marc Limbert celebrates with the Welsh Cup after beating Llanelli 4-2 in extra time in 2008 (Photo by Stephen Pond – PA Images via Getty Images)

Which North Wales footballer did not win a Welsh Cup until he was past 30 but then scooped five winners’ medals in seven seasons?

Marc Limbert enjoyed a love affair with Wales’ premier national knockout few others could rival.

It is unknown to me which player has won the most Welsh Cups in his career, but Limbo must surely be up there among the leaders.

One man I know for sure can match Limbert’s achievement is The New Saints goalkeeper Paul Harrison, who has finished on the winning team in a Welsh Cup final on five occasions. More information/revelations to come on this subject no doubt!

Harrison landed the Welsh Cup with TNS in 2011/12, 2013/14, 2014/15, 2015/16 and 2018/19.

He has also won nine WPL titles and seven League Cups with the full-timers.

Limbert won his five Welsh Cups with two teams – Bangor City (3) and Rhyl (2).

In 2003-04, he was in the Rhyl squad which pocketed an unprecedented quadruple of Welsh Premier title, Welsh Cup, League Cup and NWCFA Challenge Cup.

The 2004 Welsh Cup final saw Rhyl pip TNS 1-0 in extra time.

The winner was marked down as a Chris Taylor OG, but Limbo provided the final ball into the box and was credited with the goal in some circles.

Welsh Cup joy for Rhyl in 2006. Picture: Rhyl FC

In 2005-06 Limbo was a bit-part player, coming on as an 88th minute sub when Rhyl defeated Bangor City 2-0 in the final at the Racecourse, Wrexham.

After moving to Bangor to work alongside manager Neville Powell, Limbert was a Welsh Cup winner in his first season at Farrar Road.

He scored a penalty in extra time as the Citizens overcame Llanelli 4-2 in a thriller at Newtown in 2008.

Limbo made it back-to-back cups as he featured in the Bangor side which beat Aberystwyth 2-0 in the 2009 final.

And in 2010, Limbert made it five Welsh Cup winners medals, the 36-year-old coming on to replace Mark Smyth in the 80th minute of a scintillating 3-2 win against Port Talbot at Parc-y-Scarlets.

Limbo’s Fabulous Five


Latham Park, Newtown
Rhyl 1 (Taylor OG 91) Total Network Solutions 0 (aet)

Rhyl: Paul Smith, James Brewerton, Mark Powell, Lee Atherton, Tim Edwards, Steve Walters (Chris McGinn 32), Gareth Wilson, Marc Limbert, Andy Moran, Gary Powell (Michael Jackson 106), Stuart Graves (Chris Adamson 82)


Racecourse Ground, Wrexham
Rhyl 2 (Moran pen 48, Wilson 78) Bangor City 0

Rhyl: John Gann, Mark Connolly (Marc Limbert 88), Greg Stones, Stuart Graves (Chris Adamson 82), George Horan, Tim Edwards, Gareth Wilson, Andy Moran, Lee Hunt (Chris Sharp 84), Mark Powell, James Brewerton.


Latham Park, Newtown
Bangor City 4 (Ashley Stott 20, Christian Seargeant 90, Marc Limbert (p) 97, Karl Noon 99) Llanelli 2 (aet)

Bangor: Paul Smith, Dave Swanick, Peter Hoy, Michael Johnston, Lee Webber (Karl Noon 73), Christian Seargeant, Marc Limbert, Mike Walsh (Kieran Killackey 73), Les Davies, Ashley Stott, Sion Edwards (Martin Beattie 57).


Parc-y-Scarlets, Llanelli
Aberystwyth Town 0 Bangor City 2 (Les Davies 43, Christian Seargeant 49)

Bangor: Paul Smith, Dave Swanick, Peter Hoy, Michael Johnston, James Brewerton, Kieran Killackey (Paul McManus 88), Marc Limbert, Mike Walsh, Les Davies (Clive Williams 81), Chris Seargeant, Sion Edwards (Martin Beattie 72).


Parc-y-Scarlets, Llanelli
Bangor City 3 (Lee Hunt 6, Jamie Reed 15, Dave Morley 90 + 1) Port Talbot Town 2

Bangor: Paul Smith, Peter Hoy, Chris Roberts, Dave Morley, James Brewerton, Craig Garside, Jamie Reed (Les Davies 90), Michael Johnston, Eddie Jebb, Mark Smyth (Marc Limbert 80), Lee Hunt (Sion Edwards 69).

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: