Super Six for Sarge! Has any player won more Welsh Cups in history ?

TNS celebrate winning the 2014 Welsh Cup final. Christian Seargeant is second row, second from right. Picture: Les Evans

Following our article on Marc Limbert and Paul Harrison winning five Welsh Cups apiece, it did not take us too long to unearth a player who has SIX winners’ medals in the competition.

Christian Seargeant has lifted the national cup four times with The New Saints and twice as a Bangor City player.

Sarge, 34, was in the City side which won the Welsh Cup in 2007-08 and 2008-09, scoring in both finals.

He then scooped winners’ medals with TNS in 2011-12, 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16.

A gifted, creative midfielder Christian joined Bangor in 2007 after making 17 Welsh Premier starts for coast rivals Connah’s Quay Nomads.  

He began his career at Everton – where his father Steve made some 80 first team appearances in the 1970’s – and captained the reserves playing alongside the likes of Steve Wynne, Paul Hopkins, James Vaughan and Victor Anichebe.

Christian had two great seasons with Bangor before switching to TNS in 2009.

On top of four Welsh Cup successes with the full-timers, he won nine Welsh Premier titles and made numerous appearances in Europe.

Other members of the 5 times Welsh Cup winners medals club include: Mike Wilde (4 for TNS, 1 for Connah’s Quay Nomads); Chris Marriott (all TNS), Simon Spender (all TNS), Aeron Edwards (all TNS), Greg Draper (all TNS).

Sarge’s Super Six Welsh Cup successes


Latham Park, Newtown
Bangor City 4 (Ashley Stott 20, Christian Seargeant 90, Marc Limbert (p) 97, Karl Noon 99) Llanelli 2 (aet)

Bangor: Paul Smith, Dave Swanick, Peter Hoy, Michael Johnston, Lee Webber (Karl Noon 73), Christian Seargeant, Marc Limbert, Mike Walsh (Kieran Killackey 73), Les Davies, Ashley Stott, Sion Edwards (Martin Beattie 57).


Parc-y-Scarlets, Llanelli
Aberystwyth Town 0 Bangor City 2 (Les Davies 43, Christian Seargeant 49)

Bangor: Paul Smith, Dave Swanick, Peter Hoy, Michael Johnston, James Brewerton, Kieran Killackey (Paul McManus 88), Marc Limbert, Mike Walsh, Les Davies (Clive Williams 81), Chris Seargeant, Sion Edwards (Martin Beattie 72).


Nantporth, Bangor
Cefn Druids 0 The New Saints 2 (Greg Draper 13, Alex Darlington 15)

TNS: Paul Harrison, Simon Spender, Chris Marriott, Phil Baker, Steve Evans, Christian Seargeant, Aeron Edwards (Scott Ruscoe 84), Greg Draper (Nicky Ward 77), Alex Darlington, Craig Jones, Ryan Fraughan (Tom Roberts 68). Subs not used: Sam Finley, Connell Rawlinson.


Racecourse Ground, Wrexham
Aberystwyth Town 2 The New Saints 3 (Greg Draper 2, 1 pen; Michael Wilde)

TNS: Paul Harrison, Aeron Edwards, Chris Marriott, Phil Baker, Kai Edwards, Christian Seargeant, Sam Finley (Simon Spender 68), Chris Jones (Jamie Mullan 46), Michael Wilde, Matty Williams (Greg Draper 60), Ryan Fraughan. Subs not used: Lee Fowler, Connell Rawlinson.


Latham Park, Newtown
Newtown 0 The New Saints 2 (Matty Williams 2, 1 pen)
TNS: Paul Harrison, Simon Spender, Chris Marriott, Phil Baker, Connell Rawlinson (Chris Seargeant 10), Kai Edwards, Matty Williams, Jamie Mullan, Aeron Edwards, Mike Wilde (Greg Draper 87), Adrian Cieslewicz (Scott Quigley 71). Subs not used: Jamie Reed, Chris Mullock.


Racecourse Ground, Wrexham
The New Saints 2 (Ryan Brobbel, Scott Quigley) Airbus UK Broughton 0

TNS: Paul Harrison, Simon Spender, Chris Marriott, Kai Edwards, Chris Seargeant (Phil Baker 66), Ryan Brobbel, Matty Williams (Mike Wilde 46), Connell Rawlinson, Adrian Cieslewicz, Scott Quigley, Aeron Edwards. Subs not used: Chris Mullock, Greg Draper, Ryan Price.

Other TNS Welsh Cup winning teams (also won as Llansantffraid 1995-96 – seven in all)


Stebonhealth Park, Llanelli
Carmarthen Town 0 TNS 1 (John Lawless 75)

Total Network Solutions FC: Doherty, Naylor, Holmes, Leah, Evans, Taylor, Ruscoe, Lloyd-Williams (King 83′), Wilde, Wood, Lawless (Toner 89′).


The Rock, Cefn Mawr
TNS 3 (Greg Draper, Ryan Brobbel 2) Connah’s Quay Nomads 0
The New Saints: Paul Harrison, Chris Marriott (Joash Nembhard 60), Blaine Hudson, Jack Bodenham, Jon Routledge, Ryan Brobbel, Greg Draper (Dean Ebbe 81), Danny Redmond, Adrian Cieslewicz, Jamie Mullan, Kane Lewis (Simon Spender 74). 

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: