Welsh Alliance: Deserved joy for Holyhead Hotspur and Y Felinheli

Hotspur line up at the start of the season. Picture: Chris Willz

Holyhead Hotspur have landed their biggest success at first team level since the treble-winning campaign of 2011-12 by scooping the Welsh Alliance title for the third time in their history.

In spite of the early end to the campaign, Hotspur thoroughly deserve the mantle of Division One champions. having lost just twice in 18 matches and recording a perfect home record of 8-0.

While Chris Jones and Rob Jones provided the bulk of the goals, several others played their part, not least Alex Jones and Kenleigh Owen, who found the net on several vital occasions.

With a comfortable lead at the summit before the premature completion of the season, Hotspur were strong favourites to seal first spot.

Denbigh Town (2nd), Llanrwst United (3rd) and Greenfield (4th) performed very well especially, though.

Promotion and relegation issues are still to be ascertained by the FAW, but Darren Garmey’s men are well-positioned to move up to Cymru North having acquired the essential Tier 2 Certification.

Having come down from the Cymru North last season, Hotspur have bounced back superbly and are now more than ready to challenge Llangefni Town for the unofficial title of Anglesey’s top club.


Feb 29: St Asaph City (h) 2-0 (Asa Thomas 2)
Jan 25: Glan Conwy (h) 1-0 (Alex Jones)
Jan 4: Denbigh Town (a) 2-2 (Luke Roberts, Deion Parry)
Dec 28: Mynydd Llandegai (a) 3-2 (Kenleigh Owen, Alex Jones, Asa Thomas)
Dec 21: Prestatyn Sports (h) 5-1 (Alex Jones 2, Asa Thomas, Deion Parry, Dean Garmey)
Dec 7: Glan Conwy (a) 1-0 (Harri Lewis)
Nov 30: Llandyrnog United (a) 6-1 (Chris Jones, Alex Jones, Corey Jones, Rob Jones, Deion Parry, 1 OG)
Nov 20: Llanberis (h) 2-1 (Kenleigh Owen 2, 1 pen)
Nov 16: Llanrwst United (a) 1-5 (Dewi Thomas)
Nov 13: Nantlle Vale (h) 2-1 (Kenleigh Owen, Sam Ashworth)
Oct 12: St Asaph City (a) 3-1 (Rob Jones, Dean Garmey, Alex Jones)
Sep 21: Blaenau Amateurs (h) 4-0 (Chris Jones, Rob Jones, Sam Ashworth, Dan McGinness)
Sep 7: Greenfield (a) 3-2 (Chris Jones, Dewi Thomas, Kenleigh Owen pen)
Aug 28: Llandudno Albion (a) 0-3
Aug 24: Denbigh Town (h) 2-1 (Sam Ashworth, Chris Jones)
Aug 20: Llanberis (a) 4-0 (Rob Jones 3, Dewi Thomas)
Aug 13: Mynydd Llandegai (h) 5-1 (Chris Jones 2, Rob Jones 2, Harri Lewis)
Aug 10: Prestatyn Sports (a) 9-2 (Chris Jones 3, Rob Jones 2, Dewi Thomas 2, Kenleigh Owen 2)
Played 18 Won 15 Drawn 1 Lost 2 Goals For 55 Goals Against 23 Points 46


Felinheli (red) in action against Penmaenmawr Phoenix

In football history, how many teams have lost their opening game of the season 6-0 only to then go unbeaten for the rest of the campaign and be crowned champions?

Quite unusual I’m sure, but Y Felinheli’s Division Two title-winning story is just that – beaten 6-0 on August 10 at Gaerwen and then going 17 games without loss to end up in top spot.

Euron Davies’ side had close challengers in Llannefydd, Penmaenmawr Phoenix and Gaerwen, but the Cae Seilo edge the honours on P-P-G.

The champions’ final game saw them only draw 2-2 at home to first-day conquerors Gaerwen, but Felin did earlier get revenge in the Take Stock Van Hire Challenge Cup in November, hammering the islanders 5-0.

It was a great team effort from the title-winners, with the majority of the 64 league goals split between Iwan Owen (24), Rhys Parry (10) and Carwyn Dafydd (9).


Aug 10: Gaerwen (a) 0-6
Aug 17: Amlwch Town (h) 3-1 (Iwan Owen 2, Carwyn Dafydd)
Aug 24: Gwalchmai (a) 4-2 (Rhys Parry 2, Carwyn Dafydd, Owain Roberts)
Aug 27: Barmouth & Dyffryn (h) 3-2 (Iwan Owen, Rhys Parry (pen), Owain Roberts)
Aug 31: Pwllheli (h) 5-0 (Iwan Owen 3, Rhys Parry, Carwyn Dafydd)
Sep 28: Llandudno Amateurs (h) 6-1 (Iwan Owen 4, Carwyn Dafydd, Rhodri Jones)
Oct 5: Llannefydd (a) 4-3 (Rhys Parry 2, Owain Roberts, Iwan Owen)
Oct 18: Llandudno Amateurs (a) 4-4 (Rhys Parry 2, Carwyn Dafydd, Iwan Owen)
Nov 2: Kinmel Bay (a) 3-3 (Gruff John, Owain Roberts, Ryan Cain)
Nov 23: Mochdre Sports (h) 2-2 (Iwan Owen, Gruff John)
Nov 30: Penmaenmawr Phoenix (a) 3-0 (Iwan Owen 3)
Dec 7: Pentraeth (a) 6-1 (Ifan Stead 2, Iwan Owen, Gruff John, Ryan Cain, Aled Griffiths)
Dec 28: Pentraeth (h) 7-1 (Ifan Emyr, Rhys Parry, Owain Roberts, Carwyn Dafydd 2, Iwan Owen 2)
Jan 4: Aberffraw (h) 3-0 (Rhys Parry, Iwan Owen, Carwyn Dafydd)
Jan 25: Llandudno Junction (h) 4-3 (Iwan Owen 2, Owain Roberts, Gruff John)
Feb 1: Pwllheli (a) 2-2 (Iwan Owen, Carwyn Dafydd)
Feb 8: Penmaenmawr Phoenix (h) 3-2 (Iwan Owen, Ryan Cain, Gruff John)
Mar 7: Gaerwen (h) 2-2 (Dylan Jones, Iwan Owen)
Played 18 Won 12 Drawn 5 Lost 1 Goals For 64 Goals Against 35 Pts 41

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: