Vale of Clwyd & Conwy League: Contrasting finishes to title races

Rhuddlan Town (dark/light blue) in action against Abergele (pic: Steve Bowden)

The outcome of the early finish to the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League Premier Division title race was pretty straightforward, but for Division One it was anything but.

Rhuddlan Town ended up clear champions of the Premier under the points-per-game system, however the battle for the first division crown between NFA and Llysfaen could not have been closer.

Rhyl-based NFA, with 32 points from 12 matches, claimed the title with a PPG of 2.67, Llysfaen’s figure being 2.64 after ending on 29 points from 11 games.

Neither side had played each other in the league and while Llysfaen had the better goal difference, it meant nothing.

It was a great result for NFA, in their first season as a club, but tough on Llysfaen, who ultimately paid the price for involvement in so many cups, meaning they played less Division One games than their rivals.

Not an ideal end to a season under any circumstances, but rules are rules so what else can one do?

Llysfaen can take great comfort from the fact they had their best-ever season as a club.

They finished unbeaten in the league, were still in the President’s and REM Jones Cups, and made it to the NWCFA Junior Cup quarter-finals, where they suffered their only defeat of the campaign against Gwynedd League champions Bangor 1876.

NFA won their first nine league matches on the bounce, piling on the goals as they did so, before sharing two unexpectedly tough battling draws with Llanfairfechan Reserves and Penrhyn Bay Dragons.

NFA (blue) do battle with Denbigh Development

The champions ended with an 8-0 caning of Machno United – and this was effectively the title-winning display.

Goals flowed throughout the team with the likes of Jordan Taylor, Ste Falvey and Matthew Robinson especially prolific.

No such issues in the division above as Rhuddlan, 13 points clear in the final table with just one loss in 16 outings, scooped the Premier title for the second time in their history, having won the inaugural top division crown for the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy back in 2011/12.

Matty Rees, Mathew Beach, Jay Whitehouse and Jordan Bellham were those among the goals, with the likes of Josh Parry and Liam Handy outstanding in defence.

Whitehouse led the way with 25 goals in all competitions, 22 in the league, while Rees banged in 20 in total, 17 in the Premier.

Town had not really hinted since their return to football in 2017-18 that they had a Premier title in them, but this season they really came good under the guidance of manager Wayne Hughes.

Llanfairfechan finished up second, with Llansannan, Abergele and Bro Cernyw occupying the next three places. All can take many positives from the season.


Mar 7: Meliden (a) 1-2
Feb 29: Llandudno Athletic (a) 3-1
Feb 8: Abergele (h) 2-0
Feb 1: Llanfairfechan Town (h) 4-2
Jan 25: Cerrigydrudion (h) 7-0
Jan 11: Llanelwy Athletic (a) 6-1
Jan 4: Llansannan (h) 3-2
Dec 7: Y Glannau (a) 5-0
Nov 16: Rhos United (h) 8-0
Nov 2: Abergele (a) 3-3
Sep 21: Cerrigydrudion (a) 5-0
Sep 14: Bro Cernyw (a) 4-3
Sep 7: Y Glannau (h) 8-3
Aug 31: Rhos United (a) 3-2
Aug 24: Llansannan (a) 2-2
Aug 17: Meliden (h) 6-3
Played 16 Won 13 Drawn 2 Lost 1 Goals For 70 Goals Against 24


Mar 7: Machno United (h) 8-0
Jan 18: Penrhyn Bay Dragons (a) 2-2
Jan 11: Llanfairfechan Town Res (a) 3-3
Jan 4: Denbigh Development (a) 5-4
Nov 23: Henllan (a) 3-1
Oct 5: Llanfairfechan Town Res (h) 7-3
Sep 28: Henllan (h) 4-3
Sep 21: Betws-y-Coed (h) 3-0
Sep 7: Penrhyn Bay Dragons (h) 5-3
Aug 28: Denbigh Development (h) 8-2
Aug 24: Rhyl All-Stars (a) 7-0
Aug 21: Llandudno Amateurs Res (h) 5-0
Played 12 Won 10 Drawn 2 Lost 0 Goals For 60 Goals Against 21 Pts 32

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: