Llanfair and Amlwch are champions as North Wales Women’s Football League season ends early

Division Two champions Amlwch Town

Llanfair United and Amlwch Town have been crowned their divisional champions in the 2019-20 North Wales Women’s Football League.

Powys-based Llanfair end up top of Division One, with Amlwch heading the Division Two standings.

The NWWFL committee met today remotely and discussed how the league tables would finish after a directive from the FAW to decide the final standings on the Points Per Game rule.

Division One champions Llanfair United

Llanfair, who were joint champions last season, are outright title winners this term despite playing just five matches, all of which they won. Bethel finish runners-up.

Amlwch won eight and drew one of their nine games, their only draw coming against Connah’s Quay Nomads who end up second, nine points adrift of the Anglesey side with three fixtures in hand.

Promotion and relegation at this stage is unclear as there are expected to be two separate women’s leagues in North Wales for the 2020/21 season.

One is being run by the NEWFA to include Central Wales, while the North Wales Coast also have the option to introduce a new league.

Once entry numbers for both are known, the case of promotion and relegation may be revisited if needed.

The FAW Women’s Welsh Cup competition, in which Connah’s Quay had reached the semi-finals, is scrapped.

Yesterday marked the early ending of the men’s 2019-20 domestic Welsh football season.

The Football Association of Wales Board of Directors ratified the recommendation of the National League Board and agreed to curtail the campaign for Tiers 1 to 4. Tiers 5 and 6 follow suit.

The decision was taken as a result of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and in accordance with Welsh Government’s lockdown guidelines and measures.


November 3
Llanfair United 5 (Gemma Jones 3, Ffion Barnett, Nia Ellis) Airbus 1
October 13
Northop Hall 0 Llanfair United 10 (Gemma Jones 3, Sophie Cook 3, Sarah Ellis 3, Angharad Davies)
October 6
Rhyl 1 Llanfair 2 (Mary Griffiths, Gemma Jones)
September 15
Denbigh Town 1 Llanfair United 3 (Ffion Barnett, Sophie Cook, Mary Bailey).
September 8
Wrexham 1 Llanfair United 12 (Gemma Jones 4, Sophie Cook 2, Nia Ellis 2, Sarah Ellis 2, Mary Griffiths 2)

Played 5 Won 5 Goals For 32 Goals Against 4 Points 15


January 26
Caernarfon Town 0 Amlwch Town 16 (Cerys Gadd 4, Ceri Slaney, Gail Manning 3, Ffion Owen 2, Carol Lewis, Lexi Crawley 2, Ashleigh Jones, Catrin Evans, Meinir Thomas)
January 19
Amlwch Town 4 (Gail Manning, Catrin Evans, Lexi Crawley, Ffion Owen) Pwllheli 1
December 1
Amlwch Town 20 (Catrin Evans 4, Meinir Thomas 4, Paige Williams 2, Ffion Owen 2, Gail Manning 2, Shannon Thomas 2, Ceri Slaney 2, Carol Lewis, Beth Smith) Holywell FC Girls and Ladies 0
November 24
Penrhyn Bay 1 Amlwch Town 6 (Ffion Owen 3, Cerys Gadd 2, Shannon Thomas).
November 3
Amlwch Town 9 (Ffion Owen 4, Lexi Crawley 3, Meinir Thomas 2) Llanberis 2
October 13
Amlwch Town 10 (Catrin Evans 3, Lexi Crawley 3, Cerys Gadd 2, Ffion Owen, Carol Lewis) Caernarfon Town 2
October 6
Amlwch Town 3 (Lexi Crawley, OG, Catrin Evans) Connah’s Quay Nomads 3
September 15
Pwllheli 3 Amlwch Town 8 (Ffion Owen 3, Ceri Slaney 2, Lexi Musgrave 3).
September 8
NFA 0 Amlwch Town 9 (Catrin Evans 2, Ffion Owen 3, Cerys Gadd, Lexi Crawley 3)

Played 9 Won 8 Drawn 1 Lost 0 Goals For 85 Goals Against 12 Points 25


Division One (league goals only)
11 – Gemma Jones (Llanfair)
8 – Ceri Purvis (Rhyl)
7 – Erin Maloney (Bethel)
6 – Sophie Cook (Llanfair)
5 – Sarah Ellis (Llanfair), Tegan Hewitt (Airbus), Ffion Williams (Bethel), Katie Midwinter (Bethel)
4 – Rosie Hughes (Denbigh), Becky Lees (Airbus)

Division Two (league goals only)
19 – Ffion Owen (Amlwch)
16 – Lexi Crawley (Amlwch)
12 – Stacey Sansome (Pwllheli), Catrin Evans (Amlwch)
11 – Katie Bowe (Mountain Rangers), Candice Nellist (Connah’s Quay Nomads)
10 – Emily Jones (NFA)

Erin Maloney (nearest ball) scored the most goals in all competitions

Goalscorers (all competitions – league and cups)
(League, Welsh Cup, NEWFA Cup, Betty Pickering Cup)
21 – Erin Maloney (Bethel)
20 – Lexi Crawley (Amlwch)
19 – Ffion Owen (Amlwch)
18 – Rosie Hughes (Denbigh Town)
16 – Candice Nellist (Connah’s Quay Nomads)
14 – Catrin Evans (Amlwch Town)
13 – Stacey Sansome (Pwllheli)
12 – Cerys Gadd (Amlwch), Gemma Jones (Llanfair)
11 – Katie Bowe (Mountain Rangers), Ffion Williams (Bethel), Lowri Hughes (Pwllheli)
10 – Emily Jones (NFA), Amy Roberts (Pwllheli)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: