Welsh Cup classics No 16: Trearddur Bay United v Mold Alexandra (2010-11) – a major shock!

Asa Thomas scored all three goals to sink Mold Alexandra in the 2010-11 Welsh Cup

Trearddur Bay United 3 (Asa Thomas 18, 47, 76)
Mold Alexandra 0
Welsh Cup qualifying round two – August 28, 2010

It was almost 10 years ago that Anglesey League minnows Trearddur Bay United created one of the biggest Welsh Cup shocks of the 21st century.

The islanders dumped out Mold Alexandra of the tier 3 Welsh National League, who had just come down from the Cymru Alliance, in a second qualifying round stunner at Lon Isallt.

Star of the show was undoubtedly the player of that season across North Wales – prolific marksman Asa Thomas, who scored all three against Mold and amassed a phenomenal 112 goals in all competitions in 2010-11.

Alex were operating at three levels above the Bay, but had been unlucky to be relegated the season before.

Because of a major Welsh pyramid restructure, 10 clubs came down from the Cymru Alliance in 2009/10 with Mold finishing fifth from bottom, normally a position that would comfortably have kept them up.

So the Flintshire outfit were big favourites making the journey to Ynys Môn to take on tier 6 opponents who were in just their third season as a Saturday football club.

But poacher Thomas put the islanders ahead on 18 minutes with a looping header from an Ian Williams cross.

Two minutes into the second half the former Holyhead striker latched on to a long ball and superbly chipped the advancing keeper.

And Thomas completed the job on 76 minutes when he beat a defender down the left and fired past the goalkeeper at his near post.

Having eliminated Brynford United in QR 1 and now claiming the scalp of mighty Mold, Trearddur advanced to the first round proper and the success continued as they hammered Penparcau of Mid Wales League Division One 7-3 in another giant-killing of a tier 3 side.

Unfortunately, Bay’s amazing run came to an end in round two as they went down 7-0 at home to Cymru Alliance title hopefuls Cefn Druids.

Still, nothing could take the gloss off the islanders’ achievement that season and they scooped a handy £750 in prize money.

And as an added “consolation”, at the end of the campaign Trearddur had been crowned Anglesey League champions and made it a quadruple by landing three other domestic trophies.

How did other Anglesey sides get on in the Welsh Cup second qualifying round on August 28, 2010……

Amlwch Town led Coedpoeth United through a Darryl Charlton goal, but a controversial penalty brought the Wrexham area side level and it was they who went on to win 3-1.

Andy Williams’ double was not enough to save Gwynedd League braves Bro Goronwy from a 4-2 defeat against Deeside visitors Connah’s Quay Town.

Shaun Campbell handed Gaerwen an early lead against Greenfield, but the Holywell-area outfit turned the tables for a 3-1 triumph.

Two classic late goals from substitute Mark Griffith completed a convincing win for Gwalchmai in their first ever Welsh Cup tie.

Paul Owen and Rob Hughes’ side whipped Dyffryn Banw 4-0. The deadlock ended on 22 minutes when Gerallt Jones’ shot was deflected home and Corey Sinnott made it 2-0 early in the second half.

Griffith then took centre stage, hitting a 25-yard volley into the bottom corner after latching on to a long ball from keeper Kenny Hughes and then adding a long range strike.

Richard Owen (pen), Steve Smith and Ian Burgess led Llanfairpwll to a hard-fought 3-1 victory at Welsh National League outfit Overton.

Darren Hughes’ goal was the only consolation for a Bodedern side well beaten 5-1 at Pwllheli.

Trearddur Bay United honours

Trearddur Bay United’s 2010-11 quadruple-winning squad

NWCFA Junior Cup winners
Dargie Cup winners
Thomas and Williams Cup winners

Dargie Cup winners
Elias Cup winners

Anglesey League champions
Dargie Cup winners
Megan Cup winners
Thomas and Williams Cup winners

Cwpan Gwynedd winners

Gwynedd League champions

Welsh Alliance Division One champions

Disbanded at end of season

Sadly, the club reluctantly decided to resign from the Welsh Alliance League ahead of the 2018/19 season due to a player shortage.
They returned in 2019-20 as an amalgamation with Bryngwran Bulls and are now known as Trearddur Bay Bulls, playing in the Gwynedd League.
So Trearddur Bay United as they were do not exist any more, but 12 trophies in 10 seasons – what a record!

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: