Netball: Superb effort by Dyffryn Ladies against the champions

Dyffryn produced a magnificent effort against the champions

Dyffryn Ladies produced an amazing performance against Gwynedd and Anglesey Winter Netball League Division One champions Arfon Ladies with only six players.

Every time Arfon got a bit ahead Dyffryn fought back hard and were still in the game with a couple of minutes to go when they also lost their goal attack to an ankle injury.

Despite losing 26-19 in the end, it was a really hard fought effort by Dyffryn, while Arfon struggled to get a rhythm with an extra player.

Arfon Celts had an amazing first half against second-placed Mavericks, leading 13-9 at midway.

Tremendous defensive work throughout the team led to many turnovers.

Mavericks took till the third quarter to start to put the pressure on, coming back from four goals down to lead by 2 by the end of the third.

Menai eventually won 29-25.

Porthmadog trailed 14-9 at half time to Dreigiau Brynrefs. The second half saw Port win both quarters 8-7, but they finished just three goals behind as Dreigiau took the win 28-25.

Division One results, line-ups and awards – Wednesday, February 26

Arfon Celts 25-29 Menai Mavericks
(5-4; 13-9; 18-20; 25-29)

Celts: Gwenno Pritchard, Ally Williams, Erin Davies, Flick Smith, Cerys Davies, Tanisha Burgher, Danni Power. Sub: Siwan R Jones.
Mavericks: Laura Webber, Jessie Jones, Collette Charker, Kathryn Hughes, Lisa Campbell, Steph Yau-Jones, Kelly Roose.
Players of the Match
Celts: Umpires and Players – Tanisha Burgher
Mavericks: Umpires – Kathryn Hughes; Players – Laura Webber

Dyffryn Ladies 19-26 Arfon Ladies
(5-7; 9-14; 14-21; 19-26)

Dyffryn: Sue Evans, Ffion Jones, Alaw Jones, Greta Jams, Enid Jones, Elin Evans, Laura Evans.
Arfon: Amy Evans, Kathryn Caine, Anest Edwards, Rachel Southall, Clare Roberts-Wallis, Alis Francis, Debbie Jones. Subs: Diane Parry, Alaw Davies.
Dyffryn: Umpires – Alaw Jones; Players – Elin Evans.
Arfon: Umpires – Kathryn Caine; Players – Debbie Jones.

Walis 39-23 Primos
(11-6; 16-11; 29-17; 39-23)

Walis: Elen Edwards, Llinos Griffith, Debbie Lovell, Catrin Parry, Lois McGrath, Malan G Jones, Hanna Domagala. Sub: Ellen V Williams
Primos: Cherelle Jarvis, Claire Coles-Williams, Nia Roberts, Catrin Williams, Eurwen Williams, Becky Lloyd, Rhiannon Thomas.
Walis: Umpires – Debbie Lovell; Players – Elen Edwards.
Primos: Umpires – Becky Lloyd; Players – Claire Coles-Williams.

Porthmadog 25-28 Dreigiau Brynrefs
(6-8; 9-14; 17-21; 25-28)

Porthmadog: Debs Brookes, Sarah Williams, Diane Williams, Cet Roberts, Alaw Jones, Catrin Williams, Sarah O’Neill. Subs: Sarah Pozzi.
Dreigiau: Elin Thomas, Becca Parry, Lowri Williams, Harmony Haston-Wilson, Georgia Parkinson, Gwen Roberts, Cadi Thomas.
Porthmadog: Umpires – Sarah Pozzi; Players – Debs Brookes.
Dreigiau: Umpires and Players – Beca Parry.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: