Asa closes the gap in Bob Brodie Trophy competition

Asa Thomas netted 19 goals for Holyhead Town before the first team resigned from the Welsh Alliance League and now maintains a North Wales football presence through its reserve side in the Anglesey League. Asa, meanwhile, has signed for Holyhead Hotspur. Picture: Amlwch Town FC

Asa Thomas added another two goals to his total in Holyhead Hotspur Reserves’ 6-0 thrashing of Holyhead Town Reserves on Wednesday night.

Also on target for Hotspur were: Joseph Donovan, Curt Williams, Phil Jones and Casey Gregg.

Thomas is now on 24 for the season, just four behind overall Bob Brodie Trophy leader, Steve Whittaker of Cemaes Bay.

Robert Jones of Holyhead Hotspur is up to joint fourth after making it 17 goals this term in his team’s 2-1 cup win over Penrhyndeudraeth last Saturday.

The Bob Brodie Trophy is an annual competition which recognises the top goalscorer in Anglesey senior football. It is named in honour of Bob, a much-missed former player and manager on the island, who sadly passed away in 2011.

Bob Brodie Trophy standings
(up to and including Dec 18, 2019)

28 – Steve Whittaker (Cemaes Bay)

24 – Asa Thomas (Holyhead Hotspur – 19 goals for Holyhead Town)

18 – Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy)

17 –  Robert Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town)

16 – Justin Williams (Trearddur Bay Bulls),  Marc Evans (Gwalchmai)

15 – Dean Redmond (Bodedern Athletic), Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay),  Wayne Thomas (Llangoed)

13 – Chris Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Gary Jo Owen (Holyhead Town), Tom Hadley (Trearddur Bay Bulls),  Luke Allaway (Bodorgan Juniors), Craig Moore (Holyhead Hotspur),  Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers),   Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay)

12 –  Corey Sinnott (Gwalchmai), Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic – 11 for CPD Y Fali),  Gwynfor Owen (Trearddur Bay Bulls)

11 – Aidan Clark (Bodedern Athletic), James Ryan (Caergybi)

10 – Iwan Williams (Gaerwen), Llion Roberts (Llangoed), Curt Williams (Holyhead Hotspur Res)

9 – Brad Bland (Glantraeth), Tudur Williams (Valley),  Casey Gregg (Holyhead Hotspur Res) 

8 –  Jerome Sillence (Valley), Tom Zalot (Llanfairpwll), Rees Roberts (Pentraeth),  Aaron Jones (Bodorgan), Deian Parry (Holyhead Hotspur), Dafydd Jones (Cemaes Bay), Daniel Jones (Cemaes Bay)


2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50
Average winning goals total per season = 58    

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: