Netball: Gwynedd and Anglesey League 2019-20 winter season underway

Lottie Pleasant (right) receives her Umpires and Players Player 2019 summer league season award from Enid Vaughan Jones

Tuesday night (October 15) saw the launch of the 2019-20 Gwynedd and Anglesey Netball League season, but before the action started there was an important announcement to make about the previous campaign.

Huge congratulations to Lottie Pleasant of Llangefni on winning both Umpires and Players Player of the summer league season. Thanks were also expressed to Enid Vaughan Jones for sponsoring the first players’ player award also.

The summer league season involved a one division format with everyone playing each other once and 13 teams involved.

The 2019-20 winter league season got underway on October 15 with Division Two matches. Previously sponsored by Axis Precision and then Pant Du, the league is now looking for a new sponsor.

This season the league is back to the usual format of two divisions with 10 teams in Division One and nine in Division Two.

Results – Division Two, October 15, 2019

Wnion 30 Amigos 7
(6-2; 13-4; 24-5; 30-7)

Wnion: Ffion Gittins, Llio Roberts, Jess Day, Gemma Williams, Erin Aled, Llio Parry, Sarah Smithies. Sub: Nieve Mayo.
PoM and Players PoM: Llio Parry.
Amigos: Lili Ray, Anwen Humphreys, Sion Roberts, Alaw Davies Thomas, Nia Jones, Mari Gruffydd, Megan Euros. Sub: Llio Jones.
PoM and Players PoM: Alaw Davies Thomas

Llangefni won their opening match

Llangefni 16 Sombreros 10
(4-1; 7-5; 13-9; 16-10)

Llangefni: Cerys Michael, Awel Jones, Elain Rhun, Reaghan Smith, Ceris Mon Hughes, Lottie Pleasant, Emily Horton. Subs: Efa Williams, Cira Williams.
PoM: Umpire – Reaghan Smith; Players – Lottie Pleasant.
Sombreros: Rhian Owen, Chloe Griffiths, Swyn Edwards, Alaw Davies, M Hughes, Heledd Jones. Sub: M Ceiriog.
PoM: Umpire – Chloe Griffiths; Players – Alaw Davies.

Sombreros ran Llangefni close

Moniars 16 Walibees 17
(4-3; 6-10; 14-12; 16-17)

Moniars: Louise Pleasant, Charnjit Grewal, Stacey Bryant, Nell Benton, Meirian Morgan, Cara Owen, Ffion Roberts. Subs: Carol Hughes, Sophie Lewis, Elin Salter, Hannah Williams, Catrin Griffiths.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Ffion Roberts
Wallibees: Karen Parry, Tania Oakshot, Siwan Jones, Ellen Williams, Meredid Llwyd, Lucy Tugwell, Amy Arkie Jones. Subs: Sian Herbert, Maureen Japp, Anna Jones, Lois Jones.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Ellen Williams.

Subway Warriors rattled up 31 goals on night one

Mellt Brynrefs 17 Subway Warriors 31
(4-6; 6-13; 11-20; 17-31)

Mellt: Mali Brooks, Eesha Kishto, Ela Dixon, Mared Roberts, Abbie Evans, Molly Chisolm, Elin Roberts. Subs: Ela Jones, Hope Brett, Llio Jones
PoM: Umpire – Mared Roberts; Players – Eesha Kishto.
Subway: Heidi Bakewell, Cassie Ogilvy, Ela Roberts, Katie Smart, Debi Jones, Cet Hughes, Ella Harris, Subs: Helena B Jones, Ella Brady.
PoM: Umpire – Cet Hughes; Players – Cassie Ogilvy.

Spot the well-known football managers’ daughters in this Mellt Brynrefs line-up
Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: