Netball: Arfon Ladies pip Arfon Celts in Division One opening night cracker

Arfon Ladies receive their summer league championship trophies

The opening night of action in Division One of the Gwynedd and Anglesey Winter Netball League delivered an absolute cracker as Arfon Ladies pipped Arfon Celts 13-12 in a thrilling contest.

Before the evening’s entertainment started, Arfon Ladies received their trophies as summer league champions, while Dreigiau Penygroes Ladies picked up runners-up awards following their best season to date.

Then it was onto the battle of the Arfons.

Celts looked sharp from the off and Ladies struggled to get any momentum going with the opposition defence shutting their attack down.

Celts led throughout until the last minute and a half and appeared set to end up deserved winners when Ladies levelled it.

Known for their strength in the latter stages of a game, Arfon Ladies pulled off a win by literally pipping Celts in the last minute.

This was one of the lowest scores recorded in Division One, such was the quality of defensive play by both teams.

Dreigiau Brynrefail played their first game in Division One after winning the Division Two winter title 2018 in their second season in the league.

Brynrefs put up a really spirited performance before losing 31-17 against a very experienced Menai Mavericks side.

Porthmadog also embarked on their debut fixture in Division One, having been Division Two runners-up winter 2018 and gaining promotion.

And it was an opening night derby for Port against Pwllheli, who triumphed 28-12.

Arran, previously known as Dolgellau, celebrated a narrow 23-21 victory against summer season runners-up Dyffryn Penygroes Ladies, who cut the deficit after making changes and won the final two quarters.

Penygroes Primos overcame Walis 31-26 in a cracker. The Primos defence put in a brilliant performance in the second quarter, with good interceptions and rebounds to enable them to edge ahead by the halfway stage and stay there.

Results – Division One, October 16, 2019

Arfon Celts pushed Arfon Ladies all the way

Arfon Celts 12 Arfon Ladies 13
(5-2; 5-3; 9-6; 12-13)

Celts: Anya Jones, Allison Williams, Siwan Redvers-Jones, Flick Smith, Erin Davies, Eleanor Lomax, Tanisha Burgher. Sub: Cerys Davies.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Tanisha Burgher.
Ladies: Llinos Dobbins, Kath Caine, Anest Edwards, Rachel Southall, Alaw Davies, Cadi Bracegirdle, Debbie Jones. Subs: Beth Coleman, Amy Evans.
PoM: Umpire – Beth Coleman; Players – Rachel Southall.

Menai Mavericks 31 Dreigiau Brynrefs 17
(9-5; 16-8; 24-13; 31-17)

Mavericks: Laura Webber, Jessie Jones, Collette Charker-Jones, Lisa Campbell, Victoria Wells, Steph Yau-Jones, Kelly Roose. Sub: Freya Evans.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Laura Webber.
Brynrefs: Elain Williams, Enlli Williams, Elin Thomas, Abbi Parkinson, Georgia Parkinson, Gwen Roberts, Cadi Thomas. Sub: Anya Williams.
PoM: Umpire – Gwen Roberts; Players – Georgia Parkinson.

Dyffryn Penygroes Ladies 21 Arran 23
(5-9; 8-17; 14-19; 21-23)

Dyffryn: Amelia Mayo, Sue Evans, Ellen Cook, Greta Jams, Alaw Jones, Elin Evans, Laura Evans. Subs: Abbie Owen, Enid Jones.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Amelia Mayo
Arran: Steph Owen, Catrin Gittins, Lucy Phasey, Sara James, Ceri Jones, Ceris Hughes, Bernie Conneely. Sub: Meg Evans.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Catrin Gittins.

Pwllheli 28 Porthmadog 12
(8-2; 15-6; 22-7; 28-12)

Pwllheli: Ceri Brown, Vicky Doodson, Georgie Battye, Alaw Griffiths, Lily Doodson, Tara Thorne, Sarah Brown. Sub: Tabi Tomlinson.
PoM: Umpire – Sarah Brown; Players – Ceri Brown.
Porthmadog: Sarah Pozzi, Sarah Williams, Alaw Jones, Beca Thomas, Zoe Hall, Catrin Williams, Sara O’Neil. Sub: Diane Williams.
PoM: Umpire – Catrin Williams; Players – Sarah Williams.

Primos 31 Tim o Walis 26
(5-7; 14-10; 23-16; 31-26)

Primos: Gill Roberts-Jones, Claire Coles-Williams, Sian Eleri Huws, Catrin Williams, Eurwen Williams, Cherelle Jarvis, Manon Thomas. Subs: Rhiannon Thomas, Nia Roberts.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Manon Thomas.
Walis: Elen Edwards, Llinos Griffith, Lois McGrath, Catrin Parry, Jenna Allsup, Malan G Jones, Hanna Domagala. Subs: Lyndsey Jones, Llio Jones, Ellen Cox.
PoM: Umpire and Players – Hanna Domagala.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: