Bangor are crowned 2019 North Wales Cricket League Premier Division champions

Bangor players, officials and supporters enjoy the club’s title success

Pontblyddyn (1) 65-10
Bangor (14) 67-1
Result: Bangor won by nine wickets

Bangor Cricket Club are the 2019 North Wales League Premier Division champions.
Gareth Edwards’ side wrapped up the title in clinical style with a nine-wicket victory at Pontblyddyn in a match which lasted just 42 overs in total.
Unfortunately, the result also meant Pont are relegated.
The hosts won the toss and elected to bat, but were bowled out for just 65 off 25 overs. At one point Pont were 16-7.
Christopher Dawson took 4-15 off nine overs for the champions, Michael Hughes claimed 3-23 and Franco Kasner 2-16.
In reply, Bangor reached 67-1 in 17 overs, David Winter finishing 35 not out and Nadeem Rehman 30 no to seal a 14-1 victory and the championship.

Mochdre (1) 180-10
Menai Bridge (14) 262-7
Result: Menai Bridge won by 82 runs

Jack Gower’s mammoth knock of 132 clinched Menai Bridge the win which virtually guarantees them runners-up spot.
The Anglesey side chose to bat first and amassed 262-7 off their 50 overs, opener Gower’s innings including 22 fours.
Surprisingly, the next highest score for the visitors was extras with 27, Gareth Goodson collecting 3-74 for the home side.
Skipper Matthew Humphreys made 73 as Mochdre were dismissed for 180, Matthew Jones 3-29 for Menai in a 14-1 points triumph.

Denbigh (13) 190-3 Llandudno (2) 189-7
Result: Denbigh won by seven wickets

Tom Schrimshaw’s unbeaten 85 guided Denbigh to an impressive seven-wicket success over Llandudno at Ystrad Road.
Kevin James made 47 and Will Sissons 42 as Tudno set 189-7 off 50 overs, skipper Harrison Jones 3-40 and Alec Lewis 2-21 off 12 for the hosts.
Denbigh made it to 190-3 in 37.2 overs, Andy Clarke adding 49 not out in an unbroken fourth wicket stand of 116 with main man Schrimshaw.

St Asaph (15) 274-5 Pwllheli (0) 119-10
Result: St Asaph won by 155 runs

A week after putting on a gigantic 355 as an opening pair, Duncan Midgley and Will Ryan produced another stunning stand of 199 for St Asaph.
Midgley smashed 144 not out off 142 balls, including 19 boundaries and a maximum, while Ryan made 82 in Saints’ total of 274-5 off 50 overs at Elwy Grove Park.
This means Midgley and Ryan combined to amass 554 unbeaten runs before one of the pair was dismissed.
Tristan Coetzee, the eventual partnership breaker, scooped 3-62 for the visitors.
Pwll were then rolled over for 119, Adam Williams 32, Liam Moores 5-37 and Danny Ryan 3-11 for the dominant Saints.

Northop (13) 144-4 Brymbo (2) 143-10
Result: Northop won by six wickets

Kevin Owen produced a career best bowling stint of 6-16 as Northop comfortably saw off Brymbo at Flint Road.
The Steelmen were all out for 143, opener Adam Smith scoring an admirable 50, while Owen grabbed the bowling headlines with his six-for from 8.2 overs, Bart Ryan-Beswick snapping up 2-27.
Ammar Mahmood topped the chart with 33 as Northop eased to 144-4 in 40.5 overs for a 13-2 result.

Connah’s Quay (1) 178-10 Gresford (14) 272-8
Result: Gresford won by 94 runs

Skipper Daniel Williams hit 90 as Gresford built a formidable winning score of 272-8 at the Quay.
Matthew Thompson also notched 42 and Sam Thompson 35 for the visitors, Rob Bennett pocketing 4-51 for the Deesiders.
Quay were then all back in the hutch for 178, Dylan Stout with a defiant 77, John Bell bagging 4-46 and Chris Ellwood 3-54 for Gresford.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: