North Wales Cricket League Premier: Bangor win big to edge ever closer to title

Matty Ryan (furthest left) and Danny Ryan (second right), pictured with dad Gareth and brother Will, starred for St Asaph at Mochdre

Denbigh (1) 133-10 Bangor (14) 134-1
Result: Bangor won by nine wickets

Nadeem Rehman took four wickets and scored an unbeaten half-century as Bangor edged ever closer to the Premier Division title with an emphatic victory at Denbigh on Saturday.

Put into bat, the hosts were bowled out for 133 with only skipper Harrison Jones (56) making any serious impression.

Rehman returned great figures of 4-29 off 11.5 overs, Franco Kasner claiming 2-26 and Owen Reilly 2-31.

Bangor made it comfortably to 134-1 in 38.4, Rehman ending 51 not out and Reilly 48 no, with David Winter the only batsman dismissed for 24.

The Citizens ended the day 26 points clear at the summit, although Menai Bridge have a game in hand and could reduce the arrears to 17 points with maximum spoils against Pontblyddyn tomorrow.

Mochdre (0) 109-10 St Asaph (15) 111-0
Result: St Asaph won by 10 wickets

After seven successive losses in completed matches, St Asaph stormed right back to form with a 10-wicket away caning of title hopefuls Mochdre.

Opting to bat, the home side were 81-0, Gareth Goodson 48 and Stewart Williams 31, before Danny Ryan dismissed both openers and the innings slumped to a calamitous 109 all out.

Matty Ryan took 4-6, Danny Ryan 4-40 and David North 2-44 for the rampant Asaph attack.

The visitors reached 111 without loss in just 18 overs, Duncan Midgley cracking a trademark 61 no and Matty Ryan 32 no to seal a 15-0 triumph.

Connah’s Quay (1) 215-10 Llandudno (14) 310-3
Result: Llandudno won by 95 runs

Sam Rimmington produced his second highest career score of 129 as Llandudno amassed more than 300 at relegated Quay.

Rimmington also passed 7,000 club runs as Tudno piled up 310-3 after deciding to bat, the opener’s innings lasting just 93 balls and including 14 fours and six sixes.

Jamie Grimshaw contributed 59 to an opening stand of 213 with the dominant Rimmington.

Will Sissons (50 no) and Kevin James (40 no) put on an unbroken 96 for the fourth wicket, Dylan Stout scooping 2-34 for the Deesiders.

In reply, the Quay were all out for 215, David Fox (59) and skipper Martin Burger (49) forming a first-wicket stand of 91.

Scott Adams added 43, while for the visitors, Jack Thornton pocketed 5-34 and Sissons 3-18.
Points: 1-14.

Northop (11) 228-7 Gresford (4) 225-6
Result: Northop won by three wickets

Jordan Evans and captain Gareth Williams both made crucial half-tons as Northop overcame Gresford by a three-wicket margin.

The visitors set a useful 225-6 off their 50 overs, skipper Daniel Williams (65) and Matthew Cree (54) the chief contributors, Bart Ryan-Beswick collecting 3-50 for the hosts.

Northop hit back with 228-7 with 20 balls to spare, Evans posting 70 and Williams 57, Chris Ellwood 3-41 for the away side, who lost 11-4 on points.

Pwllheli (13) 185-9 Brymbo (2) 128-10
Result: Pwllheli won by 57 runs

Morgan Murray-Williams continued his magnificent form with bat and ball for Pwllheli in a well-deserved win for the hosts at Parc Bodegroes.

Skipper Murray-Williams top-scored with 49 and Adam Williams hit 45 as the hosts set a modest 185-9 off the Brymbo attack, Mohamed Nilam Jayman 4-45 for the visitors.

Murray-Williams then grabbed a brilliant 4-14 off seven overs, while Syed Kaleem Aslam did even better with 4-11 as the Steelmen were sent packing for 125, Jayman a commanding 82 in a fine knock where the opener lacked support.

Points finished 13-2 to Pwllheli.

Monday cricket – August 26

North Wales League Premier Division (1 pm)
Pontblyddyn v Menai Bridge

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: