Gwynedd League: Reports from Trearddur Bay Bulls and Bangor 1876 plus news of big win for Bontnewydd

Played 5 Won 5 – it’s been a perfect start for Trearddur Bay Bulls. Picture: Wynne Evans

Trearddur Bay Bulls 4 Waunfawr 0

Bangor 1876 may be the headline boys in the Gwynedd League, but let no-one underestimate what Trearddur Bay Bulls have achieved in the first fortnight of the 2019/20 season.

Saturday’s 4-0 victory over Waunfawr at Lon Isallt was the Bulls’ fifth straight league success of the campaign and put them five points clear at the summit.

Richard Owen’s side, known as Bryngwran Bulls last season when they were crowned Anglesey League champions, are new to the Gwynedd League, but have adapted like a duck to water.

Their latest success saw Matty Roberts and Tom Hadley find the net in the first half before top-scorer Gwynfor Owen made it seven for the season with a double after the break.

Trearddur Bay Bulls results 2019/20 season
Aug 24: Waunfawr (h – lge) 4-0 (Matty Roberts, Tom Hadley, Gwynfor Owen 2)
Aug 22: Llangoed (a – lge) 3-1 (Iolo Jones 2, Tom Hadley)
Aug 17: Menai Bridge Tigers (h – lge) 1-0 (Justin Williams)
Aug 15: Bethesda Athletic (a – lge) 6-1 (Gwynfor Owen 2, Tom Hadley, Justin Williams 3)
Aug 10: Glantraeth (a – lge) 7-0 (Gwynfor Owen 3, Justin Williams 2, Tom Hadley, Anton Williams)
Played: 5 Won 5 Drawn 0 Lost 0 Goals For 21 Goals Against 2 Points 15

Bangor 1876 3 Nefyn United 1
(report by Kevin Owen – Bangor 1876 media)

Jamie Petrie scored again from the spot for Bangor 1876 (file photo)

Bangor 1876 maintained their 100% record by seeing off Nefyn 3-1 after a good test at Treborth.

The lively visitors went ahead in the 13th minute as player-manager Carl Jones’ left-footed half volley beat Bangor ‘keeper Leon Jones.

The reply was almost instantaneous as Jamie Petrie was upended inside the penalty area and duly stepped up to dispatch his spot kick into the bottom left-hand corner.

Nefyn survived a second penalty appeal on 18 minutes as Dylan Summers-Jones went to ground under challenge.

However, it was the Penwaig who threatened next as Jones had to be at his best to tip over skipper Daniel Roberts’ rasping drive.

The home side then took the lead on the half hour as Les Davies’ cross from the left-hand side found the head of Petrie at the far post to make the scoreline 2-1 to Bangor 1876. It was Petrie’s seventh goal in four outings for his new team.

Two minutes before the break, Davies’ power drive rattled the Nefyn crossbar.

Bangor 1876 manager Mel Jones made an enforced change at the interval with Luke Steele replacing right back Jamie Thomas.

In the 57th minute, Leon Jones saved acrobatically as Nefyn player-manager Jones unleashed a fierce free kick from 25-yards.

Bangor’s third goal duly arrived after 67 minutes with Davies again in the thick of the action. Anticipating uncertainty in the visitors defence, the number nine nipped in between the ‘keeper and defender to slot home from a narrow angle to register his first competitive goal for the club.

And that was the end of the scoring.

Bangor 1876 results – 2019-20 season
Aug 24: Nefyn United (h – GL) 3-1 (Petrie 2, 1 pen, Davies)
Aug 19: Caergybi (h – GL) 10-0 (Summers-Jones 3, Lloyd-Jones 2, Petrie 2, C Williams, Barry, Owens)
Aug 17: Sychdyn (h – FAW Trophy) 5-1 (Summers-Jones 3, Petrie 2 pens)
Aug 10: Ogwen Tigers (a – GL) 4-1 (Summers-Jones 2, Petrie, Lundstram)

Rest of the Gwynedd League news

Cai Penny-Williams bagged five goals in Bontnewydd’s 9-3 away thumping of Llanystumdwy.

Dion Allen, Josh Williams, Arwel Pleming and Nathan Lewis bagged the rest for the visitors.

Guto Roberts and Mark Godfrey (2) replied for the hosts.

Champions Menai Bridge Tigers drew 1-1 in a local derby at Llangoed.

Jay Finter put the home team ahead before Dafydd Healy equalised six minutes from time.

Ryan Hughes scored twice for Ogwen Tigers, but travellers Caergybi picked up a point from a 2-2 draw, James Ryan and Nikolaos Kontodios their hitmen.

Postponed: Bro Goronwy v Glantraeth, Llannerchymedd v Bethesda Athletic.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: