North Wales Women’s football league structure for 2019-20 season is decided

Corwen Ladies, pictured with new coach Alaw Davies-Smith (holding shirt), are promoted to Division One

The make up of the 2019-20 North Wales Women’s Football League has been decided.

Ten teams will make up Division One and there will be nine members of Division Two.

It has been a disruptive summer for the league, with its very existence threatened by a proposed North Wales Coast FA League which would have taken the majority of clubs and left a handful of North East Wales and Central Wales sides without organised football.

But the NWCFA plan was rejected by the Football Association of Wales and now the North Wales League continues with the same two-division format of last season.

Tonight, 15 of the 19 teams attended the AGM where the league structure for the 19/20 season was decided.

It is as follows…..

Division One

Bethesda Athletic
Denbigh Town
Llanfair United
Northop Hall
Rhyl Women and Girls

Division Two

Amlwch Town
Caernarfon Town
Connah’s Quay Nomads
Holywell Town
Kinmel Bay
Mountain Rangers
Penrhyn Bay

Promoted along with last season’s Division Two champions Bethesda Athletic are Wrexham, Corwen and Rhyl.

Wrexham finished fourth after an initial three-point award from the North East Wales FA, which would have seen them end up second, for a fixture against Bethesda which never went ahead, was quashed by the FAW, who decided the result be changed from a 3-0 for Wrexham to a 0-0 draw.

However, all’s well that ends well for Wrexham, and the same for Corwen, who would have been pushed into third had the 3-0 result stood, but now finish second and also go up.

Rhyl competed as Rhyl Development last season, but now operate under the name Rhyl Women and Girls.

Development finished third in Division Two last term, and will now be the sole women’s side representing Rhyl FC after the first team disbanded following their resignation from the Welsh Premier Women’s League before the start of the 2019/20 season.

Kinmel Bay, who were in Division One last season but failed to complete their fixtures, drop into Division Two.

The league welcomes five new teams: Caernarfon Town, Connah’s Quay Nomads, Holywell Town, Llanberis and NFA.

Fixtures are due to start on September 8.

After tonight’s meeting the league said further announcements are due, no doubt the destiny of the 2018-19 Division One title being one of them. Will it be Bethel or Llanfair United? Or both? We have all waited long enough……

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: