Cricket: Bangor regain top spot in North Wales Premier by a point after thrashing saints

Sean O’Callaghan claimed three wickets for Menai Bridge in their win over Brymbo

Bangor (14) 87-1 St Asaph (1) 86-10
Result: Bangor won by nine wickets

Bangor returned to the North Wales Cricket League Premier Division summit after a comfortable nine-wicket home win over St Asaph.

The Citizens lead the standings by just a point from champions Menai Bridge, with Mochdre two further back.

Put into bat at Ty Newydd, Saints were bowled out for just 86, Christopher Dawson returning great figures of 4-13 off nine overs for the hosts, Owen Reilly claiming 2-17 and Franco Kasner 2-32.

Despite losing top run-scorer David Winter for just four early on, the hosts eased to 87-1 in 25.5 overs. Reilly finished 43 not out and Nadeem Rehman 35 no.

Points: 14-1.

Menai Bridge (11) 257-8 Brymbo (4) 237-6
Result: Bridge won by 20 runs

Although Menai claimed the victory at Tyn-y-Caeau, they were pushed hard by a spirited Brymbo outfit.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, the Bridge posted a formidable 257-8 off 50 overs.

Luke Jones (28) put on 69 for the first wicket with skipper Dion Holden, who returned to action in style with a fine knock of 81.

Edward Gadsby (30) and Andy Skeoch (30 no) provided further evidence of the strength in depth the Anglesey side possess.

In reply, Brymbo batted really well, but finished just 20 short on 237-6 at the close.

David Blackwell struck 65, Mohamed Nilam Jayman 46, skipper James Claybrook 40 and Shashika Meistry 32, spinner Sean O’Callaghan snaring 3-77 and Holden 2-50 for the islanders, who took the points 11-4.

Northop (4) 230-8 Mochdre (11) 234-10
Result: Mochdre won by 4 runs

After beating mighty Colwyn Bay in the Welsh Cup on Friday night, Mochdre pulled off what has become one of their trademark close-fought league wins at the expense of Northop today.

The visitors called the coin correctly and chose to bat, but they were struggling a little at 148-5 before the lower order delivered and made the final away total 234 all out off 50 overs.

Captain Matthew Humphreys kept up his superb form with 55, Gareth Goodson (44) putting on 68 for the first wicket with Stewart Williams (27), while Gareth Davies added 36.

For the hosts, James Birch grabbed 3-41, Mark Poynton 3-52 and Andy Poynton 2-48.

Northop put up a fantastic effort in the batting stakes, but finished up just five short of victory on 230-8. Alex Gill (78) and Thomas Hughes (49) got things off to a flyer with an opening stand of 112, but none of the other batsmen were able to match them.
Goodson scooped 3-38 and Russ Boswell 2-34 for the visitors, who edged the spoils 11-4.

Llandudno (12) 163-6 Gresford (3) 161-10
Result: Llandudno won by 4 wickets

Jamie Grimshaw’s maiden five-wicket haul for the first team proved crucial in Llandudno’s hard-fought success at The Oval.

Gresford won the toss and batted, but were indebted to an unbeaten 46 from number eight Craig Morse in ensuring they set a respectable 161 all out, the last-wicket pair concocting 30 runs. Skipper and opener Daniel Williams earlier hit 32 for the visitors.

Grimshaw produced a senior team best of 5-30 off 12 overs, while Dan Evans collected 3-45.

Tudno looked a little shaky on 87-4, but 44 not out from number five Will Sissons, plus opener Sam Rimmington’s 45, helped the hosts to 163-6 in 39.5 overs, sealing a 12-3 points verdict. Simon Perry bagged 3-37 for Gresford.

Denbigh (11) 151-10 Pontblyddyn (4) 130-10
Result: Denbigh won by 21 runs

A welcome win for Denbigh with an outstanding bowling display getting them out of jail at Ystrad Road.

Skipper Harrison Jones led the charge with 52, while Gerallt Lyall added 31 as the hosts were bowled out for 151, Aled Roberts 3-15 off seven overs, Chris Moss 3-34 and James Hughes 3-37 for the travellers.

Pont looked in good shape at 82-2 in reply, but the home bowlers got on top and bowled out the Alder Meadow outfit for 130, David Foulkes 41.

The in-form Sam Lewis took 4-25 off nine for Denbigh, captain Jones 3-20 and Alec Lewis 2-30 to clinch an 11-4 verdict.

Pwllheli (14) 233-7 Connah’s Quay (1) 156-10
Result: Pwllheli won by 77 runs

Pwllheli’s total of 233-7 proved more than enough to defeat the bottom side at Parc Bodegroes.

Kalim Syed (51) and Tristan Coetzee (34) were the top home contributors, but all nine batsmen who featured reached double figures, Martin Burger 2-35 and Scott Adams 2-44 for the visitors.

Quay were dismissed for 156, Rob Downey 35 no and Dylan Stout 35, Coetzee 3-30, Syed 3-40 and Logan Rhys Morgan 2-12 for the victorious hosts.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: