Change of name for the former North Wales Women’s Football League

The last and probably the best. CPD Y Rhyl 1879 won the final North Wales Women’s League title without losing a game

The North Wales Women’s Football League will adopt a new name for the 2022-23 season.

From the start of the forthcoming campaign, the tier 3 competition will be known as North East Wales Women’s and Girls League.

It is unknown whether there is any objection to this from clubs based in other part of North Wales (outside of North East) but this website certainly has not heard of any.

It is unclear as yet which teams will make up the league this season, but Denbigh Town are expected to be new members following their relegation from the tier 2 Adran North in 2021-22.

CPD Y Rhyl 1879 will definitely not be part of the newly-named league, as having won the NWWFL last season, they are promoted to the Adran North.

Teams showing an interest in entering league football this summer have included Kinmel Bay and Llanfairfechan.

Caernarfon Town are also planning a return after disbanding at the very start of 2021-22. The Canaries are currently working on developing a squad to compete.

Kinmel Bay are currently playing friendlies, but have not made a final decision on whether to rejoin the league. The club is expected to announce its intentions soon.

Last season’s North Wales Women’s Football League final table

After a few stressful weeks of trying to form a management team, Llanfairfechan have now been able to establish their set-up for 2022/23. This was a crucial factor in whether they apply to enter the league.

Llanfair’s new management is:

Manager – Kelsey Hughes
Coach – Sadie Richards
Assistant coach – Jonny Smith

Unless anything has changed regarding any other clubs and we’ve not been told (not unusual for this to happen) then this is the current line-up for 2022-23 for the North East Wales Women’s and Girls League (subject to changes).

Amlwch Town
CPDM Bangor 1876

Caernarfon Town
Denbigh Town
Kinmel Bay
Llanfairfechan Town
Llangefni Town
Northop Hall
Trearddur Bay
Welshpool Town
However, this list is NOT confirmed

North Wales Women’s Football League – list of available winners

2012-13 Kinmel Bay
2013-14 Prestatyn
2014-15 Denbigh Town
2015-16 Northop Hall
2016-17 Caernarfon Town
2017-18 Northop Hall
2018-19: Division One – Bethel/Llanfair United (joint); Division Two – Bethesda Athletic
2019-20: Division One – Llanfair United; Division Two – Amlwch Town
2020-21: Season cancelled
2021-22: CPD Y Rhyl 1879

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: