North Wales Cricket Premier – Bridge make it 13 straight wins, Brymbo chase down huge total, Saints triumph

Menai Bridge pictured before their 13th straight league victory at the weekend. Back row (left to right): Calum Andrews, Dion Holden, Robbie Jones, Ashley Wood, Rob Smith, Gethin Roberts. Front from left: Matthew Jones, Chris Moore, Jack Gower, Luke Jones, Drickus Visagie. PICTURE: RAY HIBBS.



Menai Bridge (13) 221-5 Llay Welfare (2) 217-8

Anglesey aces Menai Bridge maintained their 100% record in 2022 with a 13th straight win on Saturday which sees them 14 points clear at the top of the Premier.

The three-time champions, who have also been runners-up on six occasions since 2012, and have not finished outside the top two in a full season for nine years, were given a great battle at the weekend by winless bottom side Llay, who have now lost all 13 matches played.

Welfare won the toss and batted, setting a very respectable 217-8 off their 50 overs, with skipper Tom Crewe excelling in hitting 82.

Nathan Humphreys added 32, sharing in a sixth-wicket stand of 69 with the captain.

For the hosts, Gethin Roberts took 4-49, Ashley Wood an exceptional 2-18 off 10 overs and Calum Andrews 2-35.

Llay Welfare put up a good battle at Menai Bridge. Picture: RAY HIBBS

In reply, the islanders dipped to 29-2 before Dion Holden (73) and Luke Jones (69 not out) put on 119 for the third wicket.

Two more home batsmen departed before Luke Jones and Chris Moore (17 no) guided Menai to 221-5 off 39.3 overs, Humphreys 3-53 and Crewe 2-39 for the visitors.

Menai Bridge – Premier Division record
2012 – 2nd
2013 – 2nd
2014 – 1st
2015 – 1st
2016 – 2nd
2017 – 2nd
2018 – 1st
2019 – 2nd
2020 – Incomplete season (Covid)
2021 – 2nd

St Asaph (13) 207-5 Mold (2) 206-10

In a match similar in pattern to that of their title rivals Menai Bridge, champions St Asaph chased down a good score to emerge triumphant over improving Mold.

The visitors called the coin correctly and opted for first knock, Jakeem Forde (53) and John Crane (40) heading the card in a total of 206 all out from 48.4 overs.

St Asaph’s Duncan Midgley is caught behind by George Deniz. PICTURE: RAY HIBBS

Gareth Goodson scooped 4-23 for Saints, Dan Evans 2-26 and Danny Ryan 2-32.

Mathew Ryan then struck a season’s best 91 as Asaph reached 207-5 in 42.2.

Ryan put on 96 for the second wicket with first team leading run-getter in 2022, Nathanael Scott (43).

Mathew Ryan and Jurie Norval (24 no) added 51 for the fifth wicket to almost see the title-holders home.

Bangor (13) 110-5 Llandudno (2) 109-10

Bangor batsman Idrees Ijaz faces up to Llandudno’s Jamie Grimshaw. Picture: ANDRE PEPPER – ap_photoserv

These two great rivals with many titles between them played out a low-scoring encounter at Ty Newydd.

Elliott Hughes (30) and Oliver Hughes (18) were the only double-figure merchants as Llandudno collapsed to 109 all out.

Nadeem Rehman bowled majestically for the hosts, snaring 3-21 off 10 overs, Aidan Kelly bagging 2-12, Jonny Wells 2-17 and Owen Reilly 2-24.

Bangor made it slowly but relatively surely to 110-5 in 33.4, Rehman retiring not out on 28 and Reilly, captain on the day, posting 26. Tomos Davies’ 19 not out down the order also came in useful.

Jamie Grimshaw bowled superbly for Tudno, grabbing 4-22 off 10 overs, but the Citizens took the points 13-2.

Northop (11) 201-8 Gresford (4) 187-9

A close battle at Flint Road just about finished up in Northop’s favour.

The hosts batted first and made 201-8 off 50 overs, wicket-keeper Richard Walker striking 54, opener Thomas Hughes 39 and Andy Poynton 34.

Cam Evans picked up 4-44 and Jack Bunkell 2-48 for the visitors.

In response, Gresford never quite got on top of the run chase and finished with 187-9.

Opening bat Daniel Williams hit 52 and Joshua Knowles 33.

Matthew Williams claimed 3-23 for the visitors, Thomas Hughes 2-20 and Charlie Collins 2-30.

Pontblyddyn (15) 164-1 Mochdre (0) 160-10

Stevel Rodney finished just four runs short of a second century for the season as Pontblyddyn romped to a nine-wicket success at Alder Meadow.

James French topped the chart with 64 as Mochdre were bowled out for 160, Jonathan Byrd pocketing 4-23, Ryan Dunning 2-20, Ben Mason 2-26 and Ethan Roberts 2-31 for the hosts.

Pont then raced to 164-1 in just 27.5, Rodney ending on 96 not out and Ben Mason 38 no, the pair putting on an unbroken stand of 117 for the second wicket.

Pwllheli (4) 302-4 Brymbo (11) 303-8

Home skipper Jason Underwood must have been disappointed after scoring 110 not out only to end up on the losing side.

In a run feast at Parc Bodegroes, Pwll elected to bat and amassed a huge 302-4 off 50 overs, Underwood’s stunning ton coming off just 68 balls and including 10 fours and six sixes.

Christopher Taylor added 69 and opener Iwan Moore 52.

It was South African Underwood’s ninth league century for Pwllheli and he shared in a fourth-wicket stand of 90 with Taylor. Moore made his second half-ton for the first team.

Brymbo got home on 303-8 off the very last ball.

Seth Agard (53) and James Claybrook (50) put on 108 for the first wicket before both departing on the same total before Fraser Smellie really gave the visitors a chance with a middle order 62 off 66 balls.

Ryan Collier (22 no) and Gareth Boys (17 no) added a priceless unbeaten eight-wicket combination of 32 to guide the Steelmen home.

Syed Kaleem Aslam notched 3-47 and Ioan Roberts 3-65 for the Llyn side.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: