Cefn Mawr Rangers secure Premier Division Cup triumph on penalties

Celebration time for Premier Division Cup final winners Cefn Mawr Rangers. Picture: BOB POWELL


Cefn Mawr Rangers 1 FC Queen’s Park 1
(Rangers won 4-2 on penalties)

Cefn Mawr Rangers kept their cool to win Saturday’s Premier Division Cup final at Brymbo on a penalty shoot-out.

Cefn held the ascendancy for most of the first half with Park making a few tweaks and doing well to impose themselves on things from the half-hour.

Both teams had chances by this point, the better falling to Rangers.

The busy Matty Tombs hit a good strike from the edge of the area on 18 minutes which was well saved by Joey Jones.

Cefn strikers Kurt Isaac and Ruben McCorry were running the channels well and caused the Park defence trouble all half.

McCorry had a goal chalked off for offside, while Issac hit a good shot which agonisingly crept wide of the far post.

Kiran Russell (No 5) puts away the winning penalty for Cefn Mawr. Picture: BOB POWELL

Hari Gould was also denied by Jones, Issac putting the rebound wide from a good position. Tombs saw another well-connected attempt pushed behind by the Park’s keeper.

Park were not without their own efforts, the best falling to Jack Hanley in the six-yard box bringing out a great point blank save from Luke Gomm.

Rangers were unlucky to have a penalty appeal turned down before the break.

The Park upped their game in the second half.

Tony Jones was unlucky with three great efforts from outside the box, with one crashing against the bar. Liam Davies also found himself clean through, but pulled his shot wide.

Celebration time after the match-winning penalty. Picture: BOB POWELL

The final became a more fiercely contested game which led to Cefn picking up three of four injuries which would later take their toll in extra time.

There were not many clear-cut opportunities, but a fair few-half chances for both teams.

The Park were probably shading it going into the last 15 minutes, but Cefn picked it up and pushed for the all-important goal.

The deadlock was finally broken on 84 minutes with Gould supplying the cross for McCorry to slot home.

Equaliser for the Park. Picture: BOB POWELL

Great credit to the Park, they picked themselves up and came again, winning a free-kick on the edge of the area two minutes later.

With Tony Jones in the side this spelled real danger and so it transpired, culminating in a terrific dead-ball strike into the far left leaving Gomm with no chance.

Neither side could force the win in the closing minutes in the searing heat, Callum Roberts not far off with a header for the Park.


Extra time and more of the same, a fast-paced game, more competitive challenges and added injuries for Cefn with the walking wounded putting in great effort but fading fast, meaning the Park getting more ball and edging the final periods.

Torrence and Roberts went close for the Park, but Gomm would not be beaten again, so it was down to the dreaded penalties.

At this point, with several of Cefn’s first-choice five penalty takers unable to step up due to their injuries, the tie looked to be in Queen’s Park’s hands.


1-0 – Queen’s Park – Curtis Neary
1-1 – Jacque Coates
1-1 – Park miss
1-2 – Brave youngster Harry Killick coolly slotted home for Rangers
1-2 – Park miss
1-3 – Reuben McCorry
2-3 – Tony Jones
2-4 – Kiran (Kiz) Russell (stunning finish to win the game)

All over, Cefn win, cue the celebrations.

Two defeats in finals now this season for Queen’s Park, but they have a chance to make it third time lucky as they face Mold Alex Reserves in the Horace Wynne Cup final on May 27 in Ruthin.


Luke Gomm, Aaron Roberts (Harri Lucas-Jones 62), Jacque Coates, Harvey Williams, Kiran Russell, Harry Jones, Matty Tombs, Hari Gould, Reuben McCorry, Kurt Issac (Joseph Moss 86), Matthew Onissiphorou (Harry Killick 90+1). Subs: Perry Shoemark, Ryan Harden.


Joey Jones, Callum Roberts, Adam Roberts, Curtis Neary, Charlie Rowley, Nathan Brookfield, Callum Williams, Tony Jones, Liam Davies, Barry Torrence, Jack Hanley. Subs: Niall Martin, Jake Harper, Leroy Ngema-Stamp, Dave Evans.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: