We’ve Medd It! How CPD Llannerchymedd were crowned Coast West Division One champions

Gwion Thomas puts away his 23rd goal of the season in all competitions and the one which clinched the title for Llannerchymedd at Talysarn. Picture: JOHN ELFRYN OWEN

Llannerchymedd looked like potential champions of Tier 5 North Wales Coast West League Division One from day one.

They began the season with a 1-0 victory at highly-fancied Cemaes Bay and rarely lost their way from there.

Although an early home defeat to Talysarn Celts was a mini-blip, Meirion Grieves and Iwan Williams’ side won nine of their opening 10 league outings in which they racked up 40 goals, including three sixes, a seven and a five.

So often the hero behind the camera – here is the man himself in a photo with the championship trophy – MR JOHN ELFRYN OWEN

At the two-thirds point of the campaign – 20 games – Medd has registered 16 wins and 50 points, also suffering just their second loss at home to Waunfawr.

Eight victories from their last 11 starts provided them with the magic number of 73 points required to be title-winners.

A draw at Talysarn in their penultimate league game clinched the crown and made the result of their final match, at home to nearest challengers Bethesda Athletic, immaterial.

The game was abandoned after an hour with Bethesda 3-1 up, a visiting supporter allegedly encroaching onto the pitch, leading to a scuffle.

The matter is now in the hands of the NWCFA, but whatever action may be taken, if any, Llannerchymedd already had the title in the bag.

The former Gwynedd League and Anglesey League champions, who have won almost every Ynys Môn cup available, have added another honour to their distinguished list.

CPD Llannerchymedd main honours (17)

  • North Wales Coast West Football League Division One champions 2021–22
  • Gwynedd League champions 2013–14
  • Anglesey League champions 1983–84, 1984–85; Division Two champions 1982–83, 1985–86
  • North Wales Coast FA Junior Cup winners 1984–85
  • Dargie Cup winners 1985–86, 2011–12
  • Megan Cup winners 1983–84, 1984–85, 1985–86, 2002–03, 2011–12
  • Elias Cup winners 1978–79, 2011–12
  • Thomas and Williams Cup winners 2005–06



July 2: Cemaes Bay (a) 1-0 (Ben Hughes)
July 8: CPD Cefni (h) 6-0 (Tom Kelly 2, Mark Jones, Chris Bennett 2, Gwion Owen)
July 28: Talysarn Celts (h) 1-3 (James Burgess)
July 31: CPD Y Fali (a) 5-2 (Tom Kelly, Ryan Wood, Mark Jones, Gavin Sharpe, Geth Davies)
Aug 17: Llanfairpwll (h) 2-1 (James Burgess, Geth Davies)
Aug 20: Holyhead Town (h) 6-1 (Mark Jones, Gavin Sharpe, Gwion Thomas 3, Gethin Hughes)
Aug 28: Bethesda Rovers (a) 7-0 (Gwion Thomas 2, Llion Vaughan Jones 2, Ben Hughes, James Burgess, Mark Jones)
Sep 4: Waunfawr (a) 6-1 (Gwion Thomas 2, Deion Evans, James Burgess, Chris Bennett, Ben Hughes)
Sep 11: Bodorgan (a) 3-0 (Mark Jones 2, Gwion Thomas)
Sep 25: Llanystymdwy (a) 3-0 (Chris Bennett, Llion Vaughan Jones, James Burgess)
Oct 9: Llangoed & District (h) 4-1 (Gwion Thomas 2, James Burgess, Llion Vaughan Jones)
Oct 16: Bethesda Athletic (a) 1-1 (Chris Bennett)
Nov 13: Mountain Rangers (h) 1-0 (Dylan Owen)
Nov 27: Bethesda Rovers (h) 3-0 (Gwion Thomas, Steffan Bulkeley, Nathan Winter OG)
Dec 4: Holyhead Town (a) 1-0 (Gwion Thomas)
Jan 15: Cemaes Bay (h) 1-1 (Gwion Thomas pen)
Jan 22: Caergybi (a) 1-0 (Tom Kelly)
Jan 29: Llanystumdwy (h) 4-1 (Llion Vaughan Jones 2, Gwion Thomas, Gavin Sharpe)
Feb 5: Waunfawr (h) 2-3 (Mark Jones, Hywel Jones OG)
Mar 12: Bontnewydd (a) 3-2 (Gwion Thomas 2, Geth Davies)
Mar 19: CPD Y Fali (h) 4-2 (Geth Davies 2, Chris Bennett, Gwion Thomas)
Mar 30: Llangoed & District (a) 5-1 (Mark Jones 2, Gwion Thomas 2, Daniel Evans)
Apr 5: CPD Cefni (a) 2-1 (Mark Jones, Daniel Evans)
Apr 9: Llanfairpwll (a) 4-0 (Daniel Evans 2, Geth Davies, Chris Bennett)
Apr 13: Caergybi (h) 5-2 (Ethan Jones, Llion Vaughan Jones 2, Gwion Thomas, Gavin Sharpe)
Apr 16: Mountain Rangers (a) 2-0 (Dan Thomas, Llion Hughes OG)
Apr 21: Bodorgan (h) 0-0
Apr 23: Bontnewydd (h) 3-1 (Ben Hughes, Lewis Connor, Daniel Evans)
May 4: Talysarn Celts (a) 1-1 (Gwion Thomas pen)
May 7: Bethesda Athletic (h) 1-3 (Gwion Thomas pen) – subject to NWCFA investigation


Brilliant young goal-getter Gwion Thomas. Picture: SAM EADEN @ EADOPHOTO


22 – Gwion Thomas
10 – Mark Jones
8 – Llion Vaughan Jones
7 – Chris Bennett
6 – James Burgess
6 – Geth Davies
5 – Daniel Evans
4 – Tom Kelly
4 – Ben Hughes
4 – Gavin Sharpe
3 – Own Goals
1 – Ethan Jones
1 – Deion Evans
1 – Ryan Wood
1 – Gethin Hughes
1 – Dan Thomas
1 – Lewis Connor
1 – Steffan Bulkeley
1 – Dylan Owen
1 – Gwion Owen

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: