Triple joy as three North Wales clubs are crowned champions of their league on the same night

Rhyl 1879 players celebrate – photo: CPD Y RHYL 1879 TWITTER ACCOUNT (many thanks)

Three North Wales clubs have been crowned league champions tonight!


CPD Y Rhyl 1879 clinched the Tier 4 North Wales Coast East League Premier Division title with a 2-1 win over Meliden at Belle Vue.

Needing just a point to seal the championship with three games to spare, the hosts began in style with goals from Macauley Taylor and Carl Lamb in the opening 13 minutes.

As the game wore on, Meliden did make it into a contest and pulled a goal back through Dan Beattie on 75 minutes.

However, Gareth Thomas’ side held on for the win to make 23 matches unbeaten – 21 of those victories.

1879 have already landed the Cookson Cup so made it a double tonight in front of their home crowd.


CPD Llannerchymedd grabbed the point they needed at Talysarn Celts to become champions of the Tier 5 North Wales Coast West League Division One.

Top-scorer Gwion Thomas handed Medd a half-time lead with a 40th minute penalty.

Glyn Hughes-Thomas levelled for Talysarn on 59 minutes, but that was the end of the goals – Llannerchymedd cannot be caught. Final score 1-1.

POW! 💥

Greenfield lifted the Tier 4 North East Wales Football League Premier Division title in some style with a 5-0 triumph at New Brighton Villa.

Ryan Jones was the star turn for the Holywell-area side, notching a hat-trick with goals on 29, 39 and 84 minutes, Ben Sim (45) and Connor Hughes (67) also on the mark.

Regardless of how Greenfield would have fared tonight they would have taken the title anyway, as nearest challengers Halkyn and Flint Mountain lost 3-2 at Lex XI.

Go Green! Green for Go!

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: